>The backup plan may work

>My mate took a look at my old laptop for me, did exactly the same things that I did with it, but – the contrary little thing – it worked for him. I could take it personally, but I’m not going to. This means I have the old laptop as backup now in case something happens to the new(er) one, and it means I can work downstairs, away from the distraction of the internet, without having to disturb anything.

We had a glorious April, but we’ve had a very cold and windy May. The front of my house faces north, and so do my living room and bedroom. That means they’re very cold while the back of the house is very warm. I’m not going to put the whole heating on just to warm the front bedroom, but I don’t mind putting the fire on in the living room, or the kitchen is also warm either in the sunshine or when I’m cooking.

Now, instead of huddling inside my duvet wearing fingerless gloves while I work, I have the option of working downstairs in a warm room – and that means I’ll get more done. The old laptop can be set up wirelessly to access the internet, but that will really be an emergency thing. Otherwise I’m just going to load Word and Excel on there and use it as an electronic typewriter/calculator and work from a memory stick. It’s smaller and lighter than the other one so can go out with me in the work bag too.

My diary is having a bit of a shake up. I usually split the day into hour long segments and do a bit of this, a bit of that, and a bit of the other throughout the day. This is to keep me interested and entertained. However, all of my current work is book-length and I need and want to plod away at something until I run out of steam or material. Flitting between jobs isn’t very conducive to book-length work. So now I’ll fill solid days with solid work on just one job at a time. I think that will work better for me – and for my deadlines.

It means I’m in the middle of an annual and only in the middle of an annual, apart from what I also do on The Fool. It’s all too easy, though, to slip back into doing all the paid-for and contracted work first and then moving on to my own work which will be sent out on spec. That’s a habit I want to avoid if I can, if only to make sure I get some of my own stuff finished instead of having half-finished projects all over the place.

I have 2 more days at work after today, with a long lunch break tomorrow, and I can’t honestly see me sticking it out until the end on Friday. I can’t believe it’s here already. It’s all very exciting and scary at the same time. I do have holiday booked for next week and the new regime will actually start on 6 June.

I’m going to be de-cluttering in 2 stages. I’ll do some weeding as I fill the packing boxes up, then I’ll do some more after the room is finished when I’m putting it all back.

Must chase the electrician … and find carpet …

4 thoughts on “>The backup plan may work

  1. >Yeah, I've use the work pc as backup for the past 6 years, so it's reassuring to know I have another for emergencies. If my broadband falls over at a bad time, I can use the local McDonalds where they have free wi-fi, and I have limited internet on the mobile phone too. Just dotting all the "i"s and crossing all the "t"s.If I didn't have a pile of work to do I'd be bored out of my tree at work just now.

    Like

  2. >2 days and counting. Little man seems to be watching a fair amount of telly at the moment.It will feel really weird after the weekend and holiday when you really realise that you don't have to go out to a time. It's going to be great!!

    Like

  3. >I can't believe how long this has been coming. I've done it twice before, but never have I wanted it as much as I do this time.

    Like

Comments are closed.