>Death Highway

>A few months ago, maybe 2 or 3 tops, they did some “safety work” on Death Highway, but I said at the time that it wasn’t enough. They’d painted a few more lines on the road, coloured some of the tarmac red, and dropped the speed limit from 60mph to 40mph, but they didn’t do anything physical to make things safer.

They should have installed street lights to help people see better. They should have installed a 2-way safety camera to deter speeding. They should have installed traffic lights or a roundabout or bumps or something – something physical, an actual, tangible, slow-downy obstacle. But they didn’t.

They didn’t do enough.

Yesterday, one of my “one day more”s was my drive along Death Highway in rush hour. Yesterday, on my way home, the rain that had been gently falling for much of the day turned into a bit of a brief squall – just as I was approaching the junction with Death Highway, and the traffic already on there was driving so slowly that they were letting us in. They don’t do that very often, they’re usually driving too fast and too selfishly.

Something was wrong.

When I reached this fancy new allegedly much safer junction, there had been a 5 car pile up. Five cars. (FIVE.) And it had only just happened. People were sitting in the road where they’d landed, or were wandering around moving debris out of the road. And one car, still on all 4 wheels, had no rear windscreen at all, which means it must have rolled – and as it was on all 4 wheels, it had rolled a complete circle. Or bounced.

This is how dangerous Death Highway is. The road runs between West Melton in Barnsley to Greasbrough in Rotherham, past the Marquis. Locals will know it. People are killed along this road several times a year. Several times a year. Once a year is bad enough … Something a bit more than a lick of paint needs to be done.

Fortunately, I don’t think anyone was killed this time, but the emergency services had yet to arrive as we all crept past. But this was slap bang in the middle of a brand new junction that was supposedly safe. Major road safety FAIL.

Try again.

In other news … It’s my last day at the day job today (in case you didn’t already know …). I’ve already completed my timesheet and handed in my car park badge. I’ve already cleared my desk and taken everything home that belongs to me. I have a few people to say goodbye to, I’ll hand in my pass and IT equipment, and then I’m off. I’m FREE. It was nice while it lasted, and I enjoyed the work when I had it. But it’s time for me to move on.

I’ll see you on the other side.

Have a great weekend.

10 thoughts on “>Death Highway

  1. >You just know that someone somewhere crunched numbers and decided the cost/risk ratio was worth it. It makes me want to spit.On a much happier note, congratulations on being on the edge of a brand new adventure 🙂

    Like

  2. >Yikes – we have a few roads like that around here. People assume that the (often narrow, sometimes winding) roads will be quiet, and then they 'find' a tractor, or someone else who also thought it'd be quiet. They're usually travelling at speed, and you know what happens then.Good to hear The Final Day has arrived, complete with ceremonial handing-in of badges! Welcome to a badge-free existence!

    Like

  3. >We have an intersection here in town that is terrible where people have been killed. They have yet to change it. I honestly don't know why they take so damn long to figure it out.You're probably done with your day as I type this, so CONGRATS on starting your new life!

    Like

  4. >We usually turn a blind bend and find a queue of traffic waiting to turn right, Diane. There's no street lighting, no white lines, the tarmac is worn out so there's no traction, there are soft verges with no white lines warning not to cross, etc, etc, etc. It really is a Very Bad road.

    Like

  5. >They say here that if someone is killed the road safety is upped. Well, the amount of deaths on this single road – and it's a single carriageway too – it should be the safest road in the world by now …

    Like

Comments are closed.