>FREElancing FREEdom

>Today is the first day of the rest of my life. Now that I’m not going out 3 or 4 times a week to work, what will I write about? Do I get more technical? Do I get more writerly? Do I risk getting more boring? Do I give up? Or do I just do what I always do and whitter on about this writer’s life in particular?

I didn’t go out last night, although there were 2 gigs I was invited to. I have to watch the pennies even morerer now and we’re already going out tonight. In fact, I think I have a car full. Tomorrow I’m off to Brum to see my mom and dad as well. Monday is a bank holiday, but I may be working yet, depending on how I do today. The next bank holiday, however, is down in the diary as HOLIDAY. Now I’m not working for a living I don’t have to do the freelancing in my spare time. I do it in my freelancing time.

Freelancing is the new day job.

So, today I have to get my shopping, but there won’t be much food as I’m doing a 2 week starvation diet … sorry, ahem, detox. From Monday I want to walk up to the village at least once a day, and back, whether it be to buy a paper, post a letter, or just go for a walk. I need to start building up my fitness and losing some of this weight I’ve piled on recently. I can’t afford new clothes now, so I need to slim back down into the ones that I have.

I also need to get some washing on the line … I’ve been hanging the same washing out for a fortnight, or trying to, but it’s either been too windy or too rainy, and I kept thinking “I’ll do it tomorrow”, but it was still windy or rainy or I had to get up early and go to the office. If I don’t catch up with this washing, I’ll be working in my nightie. And then I have to iron a lot of it. I’ll be sorting through my clothes and sending the “work” ones to the charity shop, I think. But they’ll be cleaned and pressed before they go.

Then it’s writing work – I’m in the middle of an annual that’s due in on Tuesday, but if I can finish it today I can file it today and have Monday off – and then getting ready to go out.

No post tomorrow as I’ll be on the road. In fact, I may just always take Sundays off now that I’m freelancing in my freelancing time.

11 thoughts on “>FREElancing FREEdom

  1. >Diane, never EVER pay to go to a gig as a freelance writer. Always get a press comp ticket. Do you have an Home Office Gatekeeper press card? If not, you really will find it useful. Mine bagged me an interview with Tony Blair when he was prime minister, plus free entry to trade shows, concerts, etc.You can get them via several bodies, including the NUJ, CIOJ, etc.

    Like

  2. >The gigs are just local covers bands playing in clubs and pubs. There are hardly any cover charges and where there are, they usually let me in thanks to the gig list.I'm in the NUJ too.

    Like

  3. >Ah, I understand now. (Delayed reaction …) It's the petrol I have to pay for to get there I have to watch the pennies on, and whatever I'm drinking all night. 🙂

    Like

  4. >I'm happier already, but I still get moments of panic and what-if. Thanks for saying I was productive, though. We don't always have something to show for it, do we? So it's nice when someone notices.

    Like

Comments are closed.