>It has begun (um … rant alert?)

>The Google exodus.

The last straw was when Google Chrome wouldn’t let me view my new Yahoo webmail interface because it didn’t have Java enabled. Excuse me, but Java was and always has been ON. I’ve had this problem with Chrome and Java before, and the Google help system is so convoluted, complicated, difficult and time consuming that it was quicker to pull the plug.

I started by changing from Google Chrome back to Internet Explorer. Yes, yes, I know IE has its own problems, but the plan is to move right back to Firefox but I’m not sure I have the latest version yet and as I’m still quite busy …

Ooh, I can’t wait for some time when I can twiddle my thumbs again. And yes, yes, I know that’s what most of the problem was at the other place, but by the time I left I was so busy with other stuff I’d forgotten what twiddling my thumbs felt like.

So anyway, the plan is to move back to Firefox once I know I have the latest version and when I can work around it almost as quickly as I can IE. I’ve added my most-used favourites for now, the rest will come as and when I use them.

The next thing I did was change my search engine back to Yahoo. I absolutely do not want to see the G word anywhere on my laptop. As soon as I have the time I’m going to investigate moving lock, stock and barrel to another blog platform, probably WordPress if I can transfer everything across. I’m also going to clean up the mobile phone as I go along.

This is how disappointed I am with Google and Blogger. I’m sure they won’t care, I am, after all, only one person and they can’t get much revenue out of me. But at least it’ll make me feel better, happier, and more productive when I’m not wasting my valuable time trying to sort out other people’s incompetences and lack of interest, or find my way through their maze of so-called help pages that ultimately point you to a very long list of FAQ without any obvious method of contacting a real person if all else fails.

It’s bone idle. But I think they’re getting too big. And I know I’m not the only one because a blog buddy already changed hers over yesterday.

In other news …

Yesterday was mostly spent tying up the loose ends on the annual. I still expect some amendments to come through. This one hasn’t been the easiest to work on and I think I’m happier working at the younger age range anyway. But it’s filed and I can breathe … before starting the next one.

Today I’m off to see that woman about that dog. I’ll probably take time out to visit a National Trust or English Heritage property while I’m over there, and make a proper day out of it. A day off.

6 thoughts on “>It has begun (um … rant alert?)

  1. >I can't believe how you've even managed to organise this good weather now you're working from home.Very impressive, have a good day.

    Like

  2. >Diane, as you say Blogger might not care about one person but I wonder how they'll feel about many? Anecdotal evidence only, but I've noticed a number of blogs I read switching (usually to wordpress) because of Blogger's problems – and its distinct lack of interest in fixing them.

    Like

  3. >I'm pretty happy with wordpress, but I would sleep on it before I jumped bloghosts. Not sure how easy it will be to transfer your posts.

    Like

  4. >Sarah, I know lots of people too who have either moved or are planning to move. I just don't have the time to faff with it any more.

    Like

  5. >Hello CM, you're very welcome. Thanks for dropping by and taking the time to leave a comment.The Blogger switch isn't a hasty decision. I *have* stuck with them through tough times before (I've been with them since Feb 2005), but this time the fact that everyone at Blogger is simply ignoring people's complaints is what's pushing me over. How hard would it be for them to put a blanket announcement up on Blogger Buzz to explain what the problem is, or even that they're aware of a problem and are looking into it if they don't know what to do with it? It's this ignorant rudeness that's pushing me away now.But it still won't be a hasty decision. I simply don't have the time just now to switch and if they've sorted it by the time I've got around to it, they may hold onto me a while longer. For what I'm worth …

    Like

Comments are closed.