Messin’

Yesterday and today I’ve been mostly messin’ about on WordPress, having a look around, seeing what I can do, finding out what works and what doesn’t. At the moment I’m still very much learning. I do have a head start in that I’ve been Blogging for more than 6 years and most of the techniques are the same, it’s just finding them.

I think I’m almost there. If all goes well, the old place will stay in the old place for a while. I think I’ve managed to import everything that I needed, blog-post body-wise. I’m just still messing about with the sidebars and colours.

Therefore, please DO let me know what you think, what you loved on the old one if that’s where you came from (and if you didn’t, here’s the link), what you thought was a waste of time and effort, what you’d like to see on this one, and basically how you think it’s panning out.

Please, be as honest as you want. If there’s one thing I do do, it’s pay attention to constructive criticism. I might not always act on it, but I do always consider it. If you’re struggling to see the colours, say so. If you don’t like the header, say so. Likewise, if you love it, say so. I want people to read my blog, so I want it to be as easy as possible. And I want to know how easy, or not, it is for you to comment.

Oh, and while we’re feeling honest, please also let me know what you’d like to read about – my life, my writing, my travels, my pets, whatever. And let me know if you want tips, suggestions, rants (ahem …), guests, and so on. Or not.

I’ll have my first guest post on Wednesday, so that will be interesting, and hopefully everybody that wants to will have found their way over here.

The little man’s watching too much telly again. Time to kick him up the backside.

10 thoughts on “Messin’

  1. Quiller's Place - View From The Shed

    Hello! I see you’ve moved too. Do you want me to link to this blog on my new blog or your old one?

    Like

  2. I like the template a lot. I find wordpress much more reliable than Blogger — the transition can be a little mucky, but the long-term works better.

    I like reading about how you integrate the freelance work and life, since that’s something I’m constantly struggling with.

    Like

    1. Thank you.

      The transition wasn’t as difficult as I thought it would be, but it *was* time consuming. It *is* easier and quicker on the mobile, though. I have yet to post from there, however.

      Like

  3. I like it here, it’s pretty. I like to hear about your writing but the ins and outs of your ‘everyday’ life interest me too. It’s nice to know other people struggle with the laundry and the weather and ‘real’ stuff, whilst still writing.

    Also, I want puppy pics as soon as he comes home 🙂

    Like

    1. Oh, there will be pictures. 😉

      Sometimes I wonder if the everyday life is a bit too personal, a bit boring, a bit too much information. But as I like to read that too, I tend to keep it in.

      Like

  4. Carol

    It all looks good to me…..except….I don’t like the brown, just not a favourite colour of mine, sort of murky…sorry. Otherwise it clear and easy to read.
    I always enjoy whatever you write about, but especially mixing personal life with the freelancing. Also I love all the hints, tips and advice you give, I’ve learnt a lot from you.
    Oh and I also liked to look at all the info down the right hand side, I liked the ‘busy-ness’ of it.
    Basically I enjoy everything! (just not the brown)

    Like

    1. I don’t like the brown either, but I wanted something to harmonise with the typewriter keys. I wanted orange, but couldn’t get the right blend. And when I found a colour I did like, it lost the fonts and I’m not allowed to change those. Maybe I’ll look for a contrast colour instead …

      I like the busy stuff too. That will probably grow on a daily basis.

      Oh, and I like being able to reply individually too. 🙂 And I like being able to edit my reply without having to copy, paste and delete. 😀

      Like

Comments are closed.