Day 2 in da hoose

It’s day 2 in the DIY house … and all of the electrics have been done. There are 5 new double sockets in the bedroom where before there was just 1; there’s a new pendant light fitting; and there’s a loft light. It’s going to be great not having trailing sockets all over the place, all leading from just one source. And the rug I used to make one of said trailing cables relatively trip-proof will now lie smooth and flat.

I can’t afford a carpet yet; the dog deposit used up that cash. Maybe at the end of the month when my money comes through – hopefully I won’t have put so much clutter back into the room by then. Once upon a time I would have just put the carpet on the plastic and worried about it later. These days I have to have the money first before I buy anything. It’s not as convenient, but I sleep better at night.

What we couldn’t move of the furniture is all stacked in the middle of the room. That’s the bed with 2 bedside tables on top of it, 2 office chests, the massive corner unit, all the lamps, clocks, other bits and pieces, 2 bookshelves, and 2 wardrobes. The spare room is a bit claustrophobic because there are bags of books stacked in the window casement and there’s furniture all around the peripheral – it’s only a teeny, tiny room, but at least there’s a bed in the middle.

There are bags and boxes of books and folders everywhere. Yesterday I had 2 minor panic attacks because I needed something and had to stop and remember which bag or box it was in. I hit pay dirt first time, so that was cool.

I’m losing the desk beneath the window because the unit top we were joining the 2 chests with isn’t big enough for a kneehole. I’m hoping that with books weeded down and in bookcases and on bookshelves, and with printers pushed to the back of the big corner desk unit, that I’ll have plenty of desk space for writing (remember, I write everything in longhand first). I’m also hoping that, with them painted in a silk finish, the walls will reflect some light and make it a more attractive corner to work in.

At least the room will be even less cluttered and I may be able to move the bedroom chest from in front of the radiator to beneath the window and put the spare telly on that.

The front of the house is mostly painted, there’s just the step to do. It’s white now instead of blue. He has yet to start the back. The paint’s going up in the bedroom right now (terracotta and cream silk on the ceilings and walls, white satin on the woodwork). I think he may be finished tomorrow, although he does have a few things to hang on walls elsewhere in the house. (Like my lovely big mirror over the fireplace in the living room.)

And yes, there will be pictures.

Yesterday was mostly studying, once I’d settled. My new British College of Journalism Professional Freelance Journalism course started. This is my refresher to bring me up to date and to get me back into the rhythm of research, query, write, submission. I’ll do a bit more of that today, as I started so late yesterday.

I also did some proof-reading. It’s another WW2 book, this time a memoir, and I’m loving reading these stories about the real people who took part, rather than the formal stuff that’s available everywhere.

I raised quite a few invoices (always nice), dealt with some correspondence, and made cups of tea all day. I’m also re-reading a Kinsey Millhone (D is for … Deadbeat) because she motivates me and makes me feel happy.

Today will be more of the same, but I’ll add some Writers’ Bureau work to the studying and I need to prepare a flat plan for the next annual. Oh yes, and I need to do some writing … Tomorrow I have a guest blogger, if I can get the pictures to upload.

How did I have time to go out to a day job 3 – 4 times a week?

11 thoughts on “Day 2 in da hoose

  1. Gosh, you are busy! I’m very jealous about the whole-house redecoration – I’d love to get mine done, too! The courses sounds like a great idea to get you into the swing of things. I guess you know everything in them already, but confidence is priceless. ’bout time I did some myself…

    My great-uncle, who died a couple of years ago aged 97, spent a lot of his last year talking to a reporter and going out on trips with him, telling him tales about things that are long gone! He was also in a rather special function during WW2, and it was good to get some of that information out before he died. A lot, I think, died with him.

    Like

    • The memoir I’m currently proofing was written shortly after the war and the writer has sadly passed away since then. They are all so interesting, though.

      The house has been decorated in stages, as I could afford it, a room at a time. My bedroom was the last one because it’s so full of clutter and heavy furniture I couldn’t face either the clear-out or the putting back. It had to be done, though, and hopefully it’ll be a nicer place for it.

      I finally added your link to the blogroll. I’m getting around to them all eventually.

      Like

    • The rain came today and that put a halt to the outside work. The bedroom is coming along nicely, though. I think I’m going to wonder how I managed the day job too for quite some time.

      Like

  2. can’t wait to see the finished house pics, me being a nosy so and so ! Have you tried Barnsley Market, we got a stair carpet for the last house for £15
    Josie x

    Like

    • The bedroom won’t be as creative as the living room, nor as dramatic, but it’ll be clean, fresh and tidy and hopefully workable.
      I shall probably get the carpet from the same place as before. I want them to fit it for me too.

      Like

  3. Okay, call me irresponsible but I love the fact that you spent the carpet money on the dog deposit 🙂

    And snap, I’m re-reading Sue Grafton too. Have just finished the one you’re on and will start ‘E is for…Evidence’ as soon as I can carve out the time.

    Like

    • I love Kinsey Millhone and often go back to her. I don’t read anybody else more than once, but I can read the early Graftons over and over.
      The dog will probably last longer than the carpet anyway. 🙂
      (Put this in the wrong place before …)

      Like

Comments are closed.