The system works

Already, after only a few days, my new working regime seems to be working.

Well, almost.

On Friday I went to get the decorator his wages, and the cash machine ate some of the notes  – about £40-worth. Everyone said it always does this when you order a lot of money, that the money gets stuck in the slot, and that it will put it back in about 5 – 10 minutes. I waited 5 – 10 minutes, but it wouldn’t let me try again for the rest of my money. I waited another 5 – 10 minutes, and tried at the post office, but the request was “declined”. It was declined because the system thought I’d had my maximum daily withdrawal already.

Luckily I had enough to pay the decorator all his wages on me because I’d drawn some out the day before too, to spread it out a bit, but I called the bank and they said it would probably sort itself out overnight. That was fine for me, but imagine if I had NO CASH and NO ABILITY to withdraw any, what would I do then? I could go into a branch if I wanted … I didn’t want, I was fine.

Next morning I checked and my money hadn’t been put back – yup, that’s MY money. So I had to go all the way into town to fill in a form, which I did, but which I could have done without this weekend. To date the money has still not been put back. I wouldn’t mind but it even said “your money has been retained, please refer to your bank”, so it knew it had kept some of it, if not all of it.

I think there could be several reasons for this:

1. It gave me £260 of the money and the remaining £40 got stuck but it got all confused because it didn’t keep the full £300.

2. It’s because it was the weekend and if I go and check right after this posts, I might find out.

3. The cashpoint is a lying bar-steward and was hoping I couldn’t be bothered to follow it up so it could keep MY money all to itself.

I’m hoping it’s 1 or 2.

Anyway, apart from that everything else seems to be working. The workstation is starting to feel like home. The trays have bits and bobs in them, I’ve wedged a full-sized Tarot card of The Fool into the frame of the small noticeboard where I can see it, and I’ve hung the calendar where I can see that too (on the wall, beneath the right hand bookshelf, in the centre, just above the printer).

After I did my shopping I came home, did a bit more de-cluttering, read quite a lot (I finished D is for Deadbeat and have gone straight on to E is for Evidence), completed and submitted my first assignment for the British College of Journalism (BCJ), completed my first assignment in Devon’s 5 Stories in 10 Weeks, and I made major inroads with the current annual. That’s quite a few ticks for one weekend.

I didn’t do any washing or ironing or baking, but I did cook a Sunday dinner, plate up another to warm up later in the week, and I did some extra vegetables to go with another meal also later in the week.

We had a lot of rain yesterday. It started at about 10am and carried on throughout the day. It’s great, just what we need, because apparently we’re in a drought situation in many parts of the country. It was so cold, though, I actually switched the heating back on for a few hours. I collected rain water all day, in various buckets and containers, and the water butt is almost full to capacity. That will do for the hydrangea and for the bird bath.

Friday night we didn’t go out because I was full of cold and the gig buddy was working till gone 7pm. I’m feeling loads better now and hope the cold is on its way elsewhere.

Today will be more de-cluttering, a bit of admin (I have to input some invoices onto spreadsheets before filing them, and I have to send out some post), and pretty much more of the annual. My second tutorial is here from BCJ and I want to look at my Writers’ Bureau assignment.

10 thoughts on “The system works

  1. It worked but takes me to that day’s post, so I’ll have to have another look, anyway it was quicker than going through the link.
    I KNOW we need the rain and lots of it, but I don’t want it to STAY forever.
    Had a lovely walk around the Holme valley above Holmfirth yesterday, only got a little wet. These next two weeks is the Holmfirth Arts Festival, lots going on there.
    Have a good day.

    Like

  2. You are frighteningly productive. Any spare leaves in that book that you can lend me?

    I hope your money’s sorted itself out by now – I think the problem is that the cash machine’s brain doesn’t ‘know’ that it’s retained some – it’s a mechanical error. The money has to be physically cashed up, and if the excess matches your shortfall, you get it back.

    Last year, I took £800 of my husband’s takings into the bank, in cash, but it somehow ended up being credited to the wrong account. It took 8, yes, that’s EIGHT weeks to get it back, even though they realised what they’d done. Their excuse was that they dealt with ‘complaints’ (note, not, ‘errors’) in the order they came in, and at that point they’d got a lot of complaints in about PI mis-selling.

    Their response was to let us run up a fiendish overdraft – THAT’S how sure they were that they owed us the money – but before we checked it up, they’d ‘bounced’ my hubby’s warehouse rental. I shouted at them until THEY wrote a grovelling letter to the warehouse, explaining that they were idiots and my husband actually had plenty of money.

    Funny, all this, when they’re very quick to charge us if we make the smallest error.

    Like

    • I used to be very prolific, once upon a time. I’m hoping I can get back to some of that at least now that the mortgage repayments rely on it. I do have busy days and that’s why I make sure I have days off too. I used to burn out and I can’t afford to do that this time. I’d add that I’m on my own now, but the truth is I always have been.

      The money’s not been put back yet … I know it’s only £40, but if my finances were anything like they used to be, I’d be in major panic mode by now.

      Like

  3. I’ve just finished ‘F is for Fugitive’. The good thing is my memory has been shot since I read these first time round so I find I remember hardly any of them!

    Like

    • You’re reading quite a lot faster than I am. I thought you’d just started E. I remember most of them, but I enjoy the reading part. She makes it seem so easy.

      Like

  4. Hi Diane
    There have been reports that keeping banknotes at cashmachines is another way of fraudsters getting your money – they put something in the outlet so the notes stick so you go away with some of them but don’t realise you’ve lost some or it keeps all the notes and you think the macine has run out of money. I’d ask the bank/post office to check their machine hasn’t been got at. This was on a news report 2 weeks ago when I was working in Bristol and saw the local news.

    Like

    • The post office/Co-op were aware that it wasn’t paying out large amounts, but they said the whole lot was getting stuck. It’s a machine inside the shop right next to the post office counter so if it’s been tampered with, it would be someone on the staff. I don’t think it has, I think it got confused because it gave me some but didn’t count it all back. It also flashed up on the screen that my money had been retained. I don’t think it would do that if it had been tampered with. If it’s not back by Friday, a week later, I’ll go in and tell them.

      Like

Comments are closed.