Getting going

Despite a late start following a lie in yesterday, I had quite a productive day. It was mostly study time but I also developed quite a few live article ideas to both query markets with, and submit for one or the other of my courses.

I have tons and tons of ideas but the trick is to get them in motion. Ideas are great, but they need to have things done to them.

After lots of reading and market study and brainstorming the pros and cons and whether the ideas had legs or not, I finally narrowed it down to 3 different article ideas slanted to suit 3 different markets each. Potentially 9 solid queries.

They’re all going off to either the British College of Journalism or Writers’ Bureau for feedback, but some of them are quite date-specific. I’m meeting Mom and Dad at one place a week tomorrow for a start and I want to know if it’s worth interviewing people while I’m there and maybe taking pictures. Then 2 days later, on the Sunday, there’s an event happening at a local wildlife reserve that’s quite quirky.

Both colleges may take some time sending the assignments back, but meanwhile I need to get the queries off to see what genuine interest there is.

I actually have 6 ideas in the development stages right now, and each idea has at least 3 specifically slanted markets lined up. Most have 4 markets, and then there are at least 2 different types of … sub-market, I suppose, within each market. This means around 24 potential articles, all specifically slanted to suit a selection of markets, plus spares, so if my first choice market for each slant says no, I have at least one back-up. Because my brain is in freelance mode now, however, it won’t take long if I need more than one back-up in each category.

So this is what I’ll be continuing with today. I’ll get the individual queries fleshed out, drafted and sent off, either by email or snail mail, and I’ll put together a submission package for those markets I’ve not worked for before. Then I’ll get the actual initial articles drafted so they can go to the colleges for feedback.

Aside from the 9 solid queries (3 articles slanted to 3 different markets each), I also have another article I’d like to flesh out in response to a call for submissions. This will go in on spec straight to the market, as they’re specifically asking for submissions on this topic. So that will be 10 submissions altogether. It would be nice to get just one acceptance and just one commission out of that lot. Not bad for a day’s work. (Watch this space …) Plus, of course, 2 study submissions.

When I get going I really get going.

I’m also proofing a history book and want to get that in the post today, and I’m percolating 3 short story ideas for favourite short story market (which also happens to be an articles market of mine).

Last night I had a nice meeting with the Ramblers. They know I’m probably just going on shorter walks while I get used to little Rufus (he may be here on 27 June …), but when I think I know how he’ll be with other people and, hopefully, other dogs, we’ll start to join the shorter group walks both at home and slightly further afield.

I have lots of puppy article ideas brewing too. At least now I have the time to sit down and do something about it.

6 thoughts on “Getting going

  1. I read your post, and I was impressed with all the extra use you get from ideas but then I saw you might be getting Rufus soon and I’m afraid my brain switched completely into ‘PUPPY, YAY!’ mode 🙂

    Like

    1. I recycle ideas right down to the bog standard basic reprint – which is why I try to retain copyright as long as possible.

      He’s not here yet … 😉

      Like

Comments are closed.