Late start

I had quite a late night last night, mostly due to watching Castle on Alibi. We’re on Series 3 and last night’s episode was a double-whammy, the one with Nathan Petrelli from Heroes in (Adrian Pasdar). I was just off to bed at the end of the regular episode when Part 2 came straight on. What a treat – a whole 2 hours of Nathan Fillion. Yum.

The second thing I did wrong was get the late night munchies – aka pig-out way past my regular bedtime. This gave me indigestion and that kept me awake for half the night. Not with sickness, just bellyache. I was in that half-awake state where I knew I ought to get out of bed and go *all the way* downstairs to get the Rennie, but I really couldn’t be bothered. And so I tossed and turned instead.

And the learning outcome of today’s story? Leave some Rennie in the bedside chest.

But it means I’m late to my desk. I’m not beating myself up, though. I know I’ll make the time up. I have too much to do, although I’m still doing quite a lot of study work as well as a couple of stories and articles.

Tomorrow I have the day off, only it’s not really a day off as such. Yes, I’m meeting my parents for a few hours, but I’ll also be networking for a book proposal I tentatively pitched earlier in the week. I’ve not had a reply yet, but I think they’re pulled out at the minute in mid-production for the pre-Christmas market.

They publish a LOT of books. I may not have asked the right person, but he’s my main contact there. He may be discussing it with colleagues to find out who best to submit the fully fleshed proposal to. I don’t know. But I still have to network tomorrow in case they say yes.

I have more invoices to raise this week – this is Very Good. I also get most of my final payment from the ex day job tomorrow, but there was some confusion over the tax-free element, which they’re clearing up and hopefully I’ll get that back by the end of next week.

Anyway, I’d best go and get some work done.

6 thoughts on “Late start

    • Thank you! They’re such a motivation – especially so soon in the new career. The money I’m invoicing for now will pay my wages in a year’s time.

      Like

  1. I hate that half-awake thing. If it’s not indigestion, it’s I need the loo, is that the bathroom tap I hear running? Did I check the back door? I’m thirsty…ah heck, I wasn’t tired anyway!

    Like

    • I can’t afford for it to happen tonight. I have to get up and drive south … and to the left a bit … by 11am on Friday. I need to have a proper sleep so will make sure the cats don’t want out, that all the taps are off, and I have Rennie in the bedside chest …

      Like

  2. CASTLE is a fun show. It drives me nuts that they pretend to shoot in NY, and it barely ever looks like NY except for occasional stock footage, but I love the characters and the casting.

    Like

    • I love it. I think I mentioned it when it first came over because I didn’t know how seriously to take it. I still don’t but I still love it.

      Like

Comments are closed.