Altogether now …

… say ahh.

Here he is at last. Please meet Rufus – that’s Lord Rufus to you. He’d had a long drive and was very hot and bothered when I took this picture. But he seems to be settling down.

That's *Lord* Rufus to you ...

Holly’s not too keen at the moment, but at least they had breakfast together this morning. He doesn’t like the breakfast I got for him yet. If he doesn’t eat it I can take it back on a satisfaction guarantee and get a full refund. He prefers the Go Cat and he’s currently drinking far too much milk for my liking.

He has a very fat, full tummy here. No wonder he's fast asleep.

Domino is being much more tolerant. She’s lashed out at him the once, but now she’ll sit on the settee next to him or often just sit watching him. Rufus and Domino are currently indoors with me but Holly’s being her usual anti-social self and is out exploring – and no doubt terrorising wildlife.

Altogether now ...

Much of yesterday was spent keeping one eye on the road in case they couldn’t park or something. Most of today is going to be keeping one eye on Rufus. His collar and lead are too big for him at the moment, but we have been for a short walk around the “estate” (that’s back-in to you …).

I’m getting him used to his basket but at some point today I need to go and get him some more meat. I didn’t know what to get him before and I still don’t, but at least he ate the meat I got him, although he could do with it in 2 servings. He was so excited at feeding time, but he waited for me to say go ahead before tucking in, and when I say NO, he backs off from the cats’ food.

Looks like I have my hands full for a few days while we all get used to each other. Ideal time for sitting downstairs and doing writing and/or reading work.

10 thoughts on “Altogether now …

  1. Hi, everything is looking good, work, study, home-life and Lord Rufus is gorgeous. So very pleased for you. Just managing a quick catch-up, things are a bit all over the place here.
    Edinburgh sounds fantastic, I haven’t been there for umpteen years. I’d love to go to the Arboretum, its on my list.
    Take care and I’ll catch up again later.

    Like

  2. He’s adorable. And the cats are adjusting well. It usually takes about four months to adjust to a new family member in animal-land, so you’re already ahead of the game. You and Rufus are going to have so much fun together!

    Like

    • I think Domino wants to mother him, which is good. I think Holly wants to kill him, which is less good …

      I have to go out and get this extra meat and I don’t know yet whether to take him or leave him … decisions, decisions.

      Like

  3. Oh, he’s wonderful! I’m so glad there are no major issues with the cats. He seems a well behaved little chap so far 🙂

    In answer to your question yesterday, we’re moving to Wales when the girls finish sixth form – they’re just starting fifth year in September.It’s been promised that we’ll get a dog then.

    Like

Comments are closed.