An engineer cometh

My broadband has been dropping out like a dropping out thing. I know why, it’s because we’re right at the very end of the cable at the maximum distance from our local exchange. And the cables just aren’t powerful enough to keep the signal. But an engineer needs to come and check that it’s not any of my equipment so that they can escalate the problem upwards and hopefully get something done.

The thing that really makes me laugh is when I’m talking to them on the landline to report that broadband is down and they always, always ask me if the landline is working. “Yes, I’m talking to you on it.” And then they ask if I can make voice calls. “Yes, I’m talking to you …” And then they ask me to unplug the phone and plug it back in again … “Um, I’m talking to you on it, if I do that I won’t be talking to you on it any more …”

But … an engineer is coming today to take a look so hopefully it will be sorted soon. He was supposed to be coming between 12 and 3 but he called last night and asked if he could come at 11am. I said yes … but he’s not here yet and it’s 12:30.

I’ve been asked for more pics of the puppy, but I worry that doing that too often will be a bit like showing too many baby pics. I don’t appreciate baby pics and I’m sure there are people who don’t appreciate puppy pics. So I won’t be showing too many, maybe some every week or less often. Plus, pictures take up a lot of space and it’s a faff to get them onto a picture hosting site

The engineer just called to say he’s 20 minutes away so I’d best sign off for now. At least we know it’s working today. So far …

6 thoughts on “An engineer cometh

    • They’ve given it a boost, but it’s because we’re at the end of the cable and there’s not a lot else they can do about it. Sadly.

      Ha ha, I’m loving everyone getting the dog’s name right. Suits him too. 😀

      Like

    • Grr. Don’t start me off. Everything worked perfectly when he left. Now there’s no broadband OR phone and I can’t re-report it for 24 hrs “in case the line needs to settle down …”.

      Funny, the lad who asked for more puppy pics said the exact same thing. 😀

      Like

    • He said it takes up to 24 hrs for the report to go in and they couldn’t open it again until it got there. I can’t say what I called it (my dad reads this …) (and is waiting for Friday’s photos to be emailed …), but if he’d been bolshy about it I would have just called the engineer direct. It’s very annoying.

      Like

Comments are closed.