To the vet – part 1

I managed to do some more catching up yesterday, on work, on study, on chores, and I organised the vets for all 3 animals.

Domino had quite a large swelling on the side of her face so I thought that might need draining. Holly had a bit of a discoloured discharge from her eyes and nose, so she might need antibiotics. Both need to re-start their jabs. The cats are at the vet this afternoon at 3:40pm.

Rufus had his first vaccinations before he got here but it was only when I checked the record card on Sunday that I realised he’d had them on 8 June and you’re supposed to have the next lot 2 weeks later … I only got him last week and we’re already nearly a month later. But as my vet uses the same make (different brand name), we think we’ll be ok. Rufus is at the vet tomorrow at 3:20pm.

This is going to be an expensive week … however, Domino’s swelling seems to have burst and she’s a hell of a lot happier, so maybe that will be antibiotics instead of an operation.

I don’t have pet insurance. This is because I believe it’s a total waste of money. Insurance doesn’t cover dental, vaccinations, flea or worm treatment, or anything like that, and when Roly needed his cataracts removed, if he’d been insured they would have refused to pay for the operation due to his age – even the vet refused to do the operation due to his age, yet he lived another 5 years after his diagnosis. So I put the money aside each month to cover vet bills.

It’s still going to be another money-out week. I have to book my trains for Edinburgh too before those prices start to escalate.

More study, more writing, more reading today, and I’m expecting a few deliveries. The weather’s glorious – it has been for several days now – and that means the back door open again so the animals can come and go as they please.

6 thoughts on “To the vet – part 1

  1. Yeah, pet insurance is a rip off. They refuse to cover pretty much everything.

    Glad your little ones are getting everything done, and I’m excited to live the Edinburgh trip vicariously!

    Like

Comments are closed.