Am I feeling well?

I got the Hoover out yesterday. This is not a good sign.

It started because Rufus had discovered the cat house outside. This is a little kennel thing that I put out there for when the cats didn’t come in before I went out somewhere and, meanwhile, it started to rain. It’s somewhere warm, dry and comfortable. The cats don’t use it, but when Rufus started going a bit yampy with it I thought perhaps there was something long dead in there.

So I hauled out the blankets, cleared it out, and gave it a good Hoover – or Henry. The blankets were boil-washed and put back as soon as they were dry. There was nothing dead in there, just a snail hiding inside its shell.

As I had the Hoover out anyway, I then moved in to the kitchen. And when I finished the kitchen, I moved it into the lounge … and there it stayed. Phew, thank goodness. I’ve not flipped. It will stay there, however, until I get the urge to vacuum the room. Then Henry will go upstairs for when I feel like doing a bit more.

Already feeling quite domesticated by this time I went to get a cake out of the tin to have with a cup of tea … and the tin was empty. How did this happen? Either I’ve been a piglet or I didn’t buy enough in the first place. I’m going with the latter …

And so I started to bake, using ingredients that were past their best or not really the right thing for the job. I made a dozen chocolate chip cookies – with 1 packet of choc chips still well within date and 1 packet already gone, and with margarine instead of butter – and a dozen sultana muffins – with sultanas that were past their best but not as far gone as the cherries I originally planned to use, and with margarine not suitable for baking. The cherries did go in the bin.

Of course, with so many things “wrong” I had to sample both … and I arranged them all on the cooling trays so the gaps weren’t so big. They’re fine.

I had a nice surprise in the post – a cheque from Chat magazine. They must have published a letter I sent them. When I checked my records the last one they had was all about the UK’s big fish fight and how the fishmonger in our local supermarket couldn’t tell me if her fish were farmed or not … I think it must have been that one. Always nice to get another cheque. I have several to bank now.

I’m still on puppy-watch – he’s house-trained downstairs now – and still reading, writing, studying, etc. I’ll have the supermarket run tomorrow, and there’s a birthday party gig on Sunday that I’m still thinking about. The gig buddy’s son has offered to puppy-sit, but I’ll see how I feel on Sunday.

Have a great weekend.

6 thoughts on “Am I feeling well?

    • The cherries were definitely too hard to be used, but everything else …? Honestly, it all tastes fine. And I got to clear the baking cupboard a little.

      Cheques are brill. 🙂

      Like

Comments are closed.