*sigh*

I have spent far too much time this morning on late payment issues. I am sick and tired of people withholding my money. I’ve worked really hard to sort out my finances and get on my feet, and it really, really doesn’t help when large organisations, that should really know better, basically take the piss. (Sorry, Dad.)

Please, please, please would everyone in the UK that needs to know their rights learn this late payment legislation by rote. And then please, please, PLEASE apply it to your businesses where applicable. It’s because so many of us are too afraid or too ignorant or too lazy to do this that these organisations try to, and do, get away with it.

What are we? Men or mice? Or, in fact, sheep? And if it’s down to ignorance, why are you even in business?

Sorry for the rant, but this makes my blood boil and it’s so unfair yet easy to resolve.

I outlined the book proposal yesterday – ha ha ha, I outlined the outline! – and it took 3 pages in my notebook when usually outlines take less than 1. Today and the weekend will be all about draft 1s now. I need to stop outlining and start writing. I suppose that’s a leg up from just listing ideas all the while.

My name’s Diane and I’m an outline junkie.

Later today I also have a hair appointment and that will be a chore in itself as I install pup into kitchen again. I can’t wait until I can trust him with the run of the house, although the living room isn’t usually open when I’m not in, not even for the cats. But they get the rest of the house. Minus the bathroom too.

The weekend, as I say, will be all about draft 1s and shopping, and I may do some baking too. Ooh, and my proof paperback copy of Night Crawler arrived this morning (much quicker than the hardback), so I’ll be checking through that so I can approve it for global distribution. It looks nice. Very nice.

Y’all have a good one.

7 thoughts on “*sigh*

  1. Can I join you in *sigh*? It is a miserable thing, this extension of payment times. There are companies out there who want it to be 90 days, too. It’s a domino effect, isn’t it? The wholesalers and retailers pay later, so the publications want to pay later, and so on.

    Retrospective application is *highly* iffy. I hope you got somewhere.

    Like

    1. Absolutely. New agreements can be negotiated, but to apply it wholesale to existing contracts? That’s simply not playing the game.

      Like

  2. I’m sick and tired of those who have the attitude that those of us who work in the arts are doing it for the privilege and not as a profession. You wouldn’t expect the plumber to work for free, so why should we? Our skills are just as specialized and valuable.

    Like

    1. It spoils what would otherwise be a perfect job. I reckon they’re jealous but instead of having the balls to do something about their own miserable lives, they take it out on those of us who have had the guts to do it. Spiteful lot.

      Like

    1. Sorry, was today’s a little bleak? There were some nice things in there too. 🙂 And yes, I had a nice couple of hours at the hair.

      Like

  3. Lol Diane, not at all. I should have been a bit clearer.I simply meant that because I had nothing productive to offer in the comment thread discussion I would mention something ‘lighter’ as opposed to ‘heavy’, not lighter as opposed to darker 🙂

    Darn, and I think I’m a writer!

    Like

Comments are closed.