The terrible 2s

His Lordship

Rufus is at the terrible-two stage. He knows now that he can get away with certain stuff and he’s been a bit naughty over the weekend.

He didn’t behave himself very well when I went to have my hair done. He totally wrecked the kitchen and I’d put him in there because there was nothing that wasn’t his he couldn’t get to.

Har bloody har.

My hair looks great, even though I do say so myself. She’s done a good job this time. The rest of Friday was spent proofing the paperback of Night Crawler.

On Saturday I had to go to the supermarket, and Rufus went in the kitchen again, I thought with even less stuff he could damage. Ho ho ho ho ho. The gig buddy is trying to get me to consider a cage, at least for a short while, but I’ve never put any of my pets in a cage before and I’d really like to use that as an absolute last resort.

My next proof-reading assignment arrived. Fortunately I was in to take delivery of it and Pup didn’t get to chew it.

When I got back from the supermarket, I started to scrub the kitchen floor. Proper, like. On hands and knees with a scrubbing-brush, one square at a time. Just like Mother used to … The scrubbing took hours because I had to keep taking breaks. Mom did it every week. Every. Single. Week. She’s my new hero as it took me 5 years to do a thorough job this time. It’ll probably take me another 5 years to attempt it again.

I could have gone to a gig but I was worn out after all that work, and Rufus had scratched my face too.

However, we did have a major first during the evening. The dog actually ran to the kitchen door, waited for me to open it, then scampered through the kitchen and to the back door. He’d asked to go out and he managed to get all the way there without having an accident (there are puppy training mats en route but he didn’t need them!).

When he came in he found his bark. His bark has taken him by surprise a couple of times, but this time he found it and he used it 3 times. At Holly. And then he used it again. At Domino.

Then he spoiled the good news by upsetting a water dish, but that was an accident rather than him being naughty.

By the end of the evening, Holly, Domino and Rufus were all on the same settee. Okay, so they’re not the best of friends yet, and it is the bigger of the 2 settees. But it’s the same settee.

Togetherness. Almost ...

Tomorrow, Sunday, the gig buddy and I were going take Rufus and her 2 dogs out for a couple of hours, if the sun was shining. But I think we’ve had rain forecast, Rufus is still too small for his collar, I couldn’t get a smaller one at the supermarket, and I didn’t want to go all the way to the pet centre. I think she has another date now anyway.

Instead I’m going to sit and (proof-)read and keep an eye on the dog to see if he finally is house-trained. If I let him sleep on the bed, he sleeps the whole night through, stupor-like. It might be spoiling him, but at least I’m getting some sleep at last. You can imagine the masochistic pleasure I get at waking him at 5am instead of him waking me at 2am.

Enjoy the rest of your weekend.

6 thoughts on “The terrible 2s

  1. I love that picture of them all on the sofa. It’s like they had a chat and decided to at least be civilised even if they couldn’t quite be friends yet 🙂

    And I sympathise with you over scrubbing the floor. I had a washing machine malfunction that meant cleaning mine, two days after throwing the old mop out.

    Like

    • I kept cleaning up after the pup and the kitchen roll was filthy, and I was only clearing up splashes of ordinary water or maybe a dribble of milk. It made me realise how dirty the floor was. Now when I wipe something up there’s just whatever I’m wiping up on the kitchen towel.

      Like

  2. I think you’re right to let him sleep on the bed with him being a lordship and all. Mine do 🙂 And they used to sleep like that with the cats – with a respectful distance between! Love it!

    Like

    • Roly used to cuddle my first cat, but the 2nd cat wouldn’t let him near. I think they may all end up cuddling, by the time the cold winter gets here – and, let’s face it, they’re practising with the cold summer we already have. Domino’s more tolerant than Holly, but I don’t want Holly feeling left out either.

      Like

Comments are closed.