The builder man cometh

I’ve been so busy I didn’t switch the pc on since Thursday. I can’t even remember exactly what I’ve done since then, apart from proof-reading, writing, and walking the dog. I’m getting into that routine I needed but today it’s been disturbed again, but for another very good reason.

Friday I took the dog on a local walk from my front door, and we went on another on Saturday – there are around 5 different walks I can choose from. We’re up to a mile and a quarter, which knocks him out nicely. Saturday I also renewed a book at the library, returned a book and donated about half a dozen so that the authors may get PLR. I also did my supermarket shopping and a couple of washloads.

On Sunday I took Rufus to a nearby woods for another walk but was disappointed with the quality of both the walk guide and the waymarks – of which there were none. Later on our footpath officer from the local ramblers came to look at a public footpath we’ve reported, and then we went to have a quick look at 4 of these 5 walks. We might do a couple of joint walks for the ramblers that take in the footpaths that go through my village.

The builder is currently here fencing off my property so that my individual back yard is slightly bigger (I’m gaining about 4 feet across the whole width) and so that it’s more private. He’s putting in a 6 foot fence with pedestrian gate for wheelie bin and window cleaner access, and double gates for vehicular access.

I own all the land at the back of my house, we all do, but we have to leave access for all the people beyond us in the terrace. Fortunately, in my case, that’s just one more person. Fencing it off will define it better and, hopefully, keep out all the kids that don’t even live here “trespassing”. They can’t know they’re trespassing because it’s all open, but they are.

When it’s done I should also be able to work outside without kids and neighbours thinking it’s okay to chat. It will also mean I can let the dog out or feed the birds while still in my nightie and not worry that the entire neighbourhood can see me.

He keeps hitting gas pipes that are too close to the surface, so that’s slowed him down a bit, and Rufus keeps wanting to go out and play and while it’s open we’re both worried about him escaping onto the road. But it should be ever so nice when it’s finished, and when the fencing’s done he’ll start on the flagging …

I postponed a dental appointment this afternoon to next Monday, and while the builder went on his lunch break I took Rufus for a ride in the car to get some more money for the builder, and we stopped off on the way back for his daily walk.

While the builder’s here, and while we’re all distracted, I’m proof-reading the latest military book I have. It’s easier to pick up and put down and go back to than if I was writing something.

The builder will be here again tomorrow, and again on Thursday, by which time the garden should be enclosed and private. Then we’ll look at the flagstone job and he can break the price of that to me gently.

8 thoughts on “The builder man cometh

  1. That’ll be great when it’s finished. There’s a big field behind the row of houses where I live. Mine is the only garden with a wall low enough to take a short cut to it – and all the neighbourhood kids know it! It’s quite funny watching them trying to lift their bikes over, hoping I won’t notice.

    Like

    1. I wouldn’t mind so much if there was something to see or somewhere to go, but this is the end of the road to nowhere, and the only reason these kids are on my land is because they’re being nosy. And when I told them I was fencing it off, they had the nerve to tell me I couldn’t. Aged 3.

      Like

  2. Carol

    This sounds great but I need some photos as I’m struggling to picture it.
    Hope he breaks the price very gently, I don’t want to hear a volcano has erupted in Barnsley!

    Like

    1. I already have before photos and, just for you, I took some in progress pics today. 😉

      He’s not had the nerve to tell me the price of the flagging yet. It must be Very Expensive …

      Like

  3. I wish I could fence off my property – but the roads are so narrow that if people weren’t ‘allowed’ to step on my drive as cars came past, they’d get run over! Unfortunately, that means the odd child who thinks that no gate = free access.

    On the library books donation, my library used to hav a sign up saying, ‘be aware that we might sell donations’. I’d heard a load of people discussing this recently, so I asked, and they said they virtually always sold them. I guess it depends what people donate.

    Like

    1. I checked with my library when I first started taking them and most of them they “jewey up” and put on the shelves. If, however, it’s an old book, or if they already have several, they do sell them but they have to buy books with the proceeds, rather than IT equipment. I’m just as happy with that.

      Like

    1. Oh gosh, I am so looking forward to it being finished. I wasn’t able to buy pots or many seeds in the end because there’s no security, so I’m already planning ahead. My treat for getting it done will be a grape vine. I found an outdoor variety that was quite reasonable, but the pot will need to be a big one and that will be the special treat.

      Like

Comments are closed.