Be nice when it’s finished

The fencing and gating is coming on. All the posts are in place but it took him a while to dig the holes because the gas supplies to the various houses haven’t been buried deep enough and he had to make sure he didn’t fracture a pipe. Once the posts were in he was able to measure the panels to the exact sizes, although he kept them to a standard 6 foot where he could.

We talked about it and decided to make the totally private 14′ square part of the garden into a kind of courtyard, by taking the fence to the full 6′ height all the way around. I wondered at first about blocking out the sun, but the whole purpose of this fencing is to make the garden private and while I get on fine with the only neighbour that needs access across my land, he may not be there forever and he does have a big dog that could spook visitors.

And, okay, I wanted it to be private.

Once it’s all flagged I’ll start to collect pots and containers more seriously and my first job will be to re-pot and prune the 2 apple ballerina trees. Then the one and only major purchase, produce-wise, will be a grape-vine. I found one for less than £15, which is about £15 cheaper than I thought it would be, but it will need a large pot, which will be expensive. Especially if I go for a Versailles-style one.

Then the rest of it, for now, will be whatever containers I can get hold of – I have a galvanised aluminium watering can and a galvanised aluminium preserve pan to start me off, and a large plastic box with drainage holes already in that will do for potatoes. I also have 3 re-useable bag-type containers. There’s a potato kit I can buy for £9 but anything else will be whatever comes free on the front of a magazine.

There’s a packet of sweet pea seeds on the front of a magazine that will be out on Friday, I already have tomato and carrot seeds, and I’ll see what else I can scavenge.

Flagstones and grape-vine first, though.

Ooh, it’s all exciting … 🙂

10 thoughts on “Be nice when it’s finished

    1. Step out of the back door into a 14′ square yard surrounded by 6′ fencing with 2 x 6′ gates. One gate goes to the outside world, to the right, the other goes straight on. Go straight on, through the gate, over a footpath and a driveway to an additional flagged area where a shed or summerhouse will go. Then it’s a stone wall with raised ground beyond and trees and bushes on top. The wheelie bins, water butt and other “working” parts of the garden will also be stored here. The driveway is also gated to the outside world to the right, but another gate on the footpath goes left into my neighbour’s yard. He has a garage that he uses, to the left, hence the driveway.

      Can you visualise it now?

      Like

    1. I’m already working outside on various things. It’ll be so much better when no-one can see in and I can’t see out. And I’ll have a parasol or an awning for when it rains or gets too sunny.

      Like

  1. I totally agree about the privacy thing. 6′ won’t block out much sun, so I wouldn’t worry.

    Have you considered some clematis in addition to the grapevine? They trail up walls well, and last for about 25 years or so.

    Like

    1. I looked at the clematis too but I’d want a long-flowering one rather than just spring or late summer – I like to get my money’s worth. 😉 It’s going to be a kitchen courtyard garden so much of the planting will be partner planting to keep off flies and attract pollinating insects or ladybirds, lacewings and hoverflies that will eat the black- and greenfly. Also things like sunflowers so beans can climb up without need for canes, and when they’re done I still have a sunflower at the top. So if I have a clematis it will be for pollinating insects and birds as well as coverage.

      Like

  2. Carol

    So, there will be two areas, one for relaxing and veg growing etc and one functional area for the bins and water butt. I can just see you sitting (lying) in the garden with notebook and pen in hand, a glass of wine at your side, slightly dozing in the warm sun, listening to the distant buzz of a busy bee, as you wait for the next inspiration. I think you’ll have a queue of people waiting to join you.

    Like

    1. Yup, you’ve got it.

      That’s a nice picture you painted. It’ll be something like that, but replace the wine with homemade lemonade or cordial with ice. 🙂

      Like

Comments are closed.