Slack blogger

I’ve been very slack on the blogging front these past 2 weeks. I can only put this down to feeling quite out of sorts while trying to find something that works with this arthritis rubbish. I’ve also not switched the pc on for several days, which was something I was striving for but maybe not to such an extent.

So. What’s been going on? Not a lot.

I’ve been walking the dog in between feeling very sorry for myself. The painkillers I was on upset my stomach so much I could hardly put anything in it without getting indigestion. So while I came off the painkillers, I also came off the food, eating just Farley’s rusks or Kellogg’s Rice Krispies with hot milk. By the end of last week I’d lost almost 10lb in 2 weeks.

Ten pounds in 2 weeks is way too much. Some of it is down to the walking/exercise, the rest will be down to the “starvation”. I did start eating again yesterday evening, though, so I’m sure some of that will go straight back on.

The supplements are doing the trick. That’s cod liver oil (extra strength, cos they didn’t have any regular) and glucosamine. These don’t work as quickly as the painkillers, but they do work – usually in the time it takes me to have a relaxed cup of tea. And at least I can get out of bed in the mornings again and down the stairs so can put the kettle on for said cup of tea.

I think the exercise is contributing hugely. I’ve not had the time or the inclination for yoga, but walking the dog is now firmly established every day. Not the same time every day, but every day. Now I have to start including work and yoga too.

One step at a time.

Last Thursday I went out forΒ  a drink with a mate I’ve known for 4 years but who I only just met. He’s one of my band buddies, met via the gig list. We had a nice evening and a good chinwag. He invited to me to a gig Sunday teatime, but I can’t often make it to gigs on Sunday teatimes so I didn’t promise I’d go and, in the event, I wasn’t ready in time and was actually walking the dog at the time the band were getting up for their first set.

Saturday was shopping, but beyond that there have been no big household chores.

The builder was supposed to be here today. We were waiting for materials and they arrived at the merchant’s on Thursday, but with rain forecast the builder didn’t want to start digging the yard up for the dog to scratch around in. So he was coming today. An hour after he said he’d be here he texted to say it would be tomorrow now.

I could have had another lie-in, but I need to start getting up at a proper time and start work at a proper time and have proper structured days and proper time off.

Later this week I’ll announce the result of the book giveaway.

8 thoughts on “Slack blogger

  1. Try acupuncture. There’s plenty of research about its positive effects treating arthritis. I’ve yet to meet a painkiller, no matter how strong or how prescribed — that does much more than barely take the edge off. Give it a try.

    Like

    • I tried it before, when the yoga eventually did the trick in the end. I hated them leaving me there stuck all over with needles and started having nightmares about it. Had about 4 courses, but the treatment couch was beneath a slope in the roof where the car park ramp ran above it and I was always convinced the roof would come down on me and drive the needles in. No such problem here, though I would have to find a registered practitioner, and I’m not sure they even know what it is here in the back of beyond.

      Like

  2. Oh Diane, so sorry to hear about the struggles. Acupuncture is a good suggestion. I’m sure there are good practitioners, even in Barnsley! I know someone who got a lot of relief that way when nothing else seemed to work.
    A little bit of cheery good news, on my side. I have a baby granddaughter. Lily was born on Friday, weighing in at 6lbs 13oz. We are going up to Scotland on Wednesday to meet her.

    Like

  3. I’m so sorry to hear about how tough it’s been for you. I have no practical advice I can give you but, whilst you seem to be a very strong woman not given to virtual hugs, I’m sending you a hug anyway πŸ™‚

    Take care, and don’t be too tough on yourself x

    Like

Comments are closed.