Quagmire

So the riots moved from London to Birmingham to Manchester to Preston, yet police from Yorkshire are being sent to London. They did this the other way around with the miners’ strikes of 1984. Southern police came up to Yorkshire and there was a lot of violence used in order to control the strikers and the pickets. There were even deaths.

Yorkshire communities are now asking why the same isn’t being done today. They have a point.

Two people died in Birmingham last night, and one is still critical. Some are saying the riots are race-related, and if they are I think it was refreshing to see on telly last night that the only youths not covering their faces or heads when being interviewed were black. Mind you, they weren’t doing any of the rioting. They were just in town … probably to watch.

I don’t think it is race-related at all. Some say it’s cuts-related. I don’t think it’s cuts-related either. I think it’s just an excuse to break the law and damage property. It’s totally stupid. They should all be rounded up and sent to Afghanistan. Oops, sorry. I think I just expressed an opinion …

Overnight we had rain. We need rain. I love rain. But I didn’t want rain just now. My back yard is all dug up and rain is turning it into a quagmire. Builder man came at 8:30am instead of 8 to make sure the rain had stopped for a while. Apparently he dissolves in the rain (his daughter, by the way, is one of our cops that have been sent down to London). He has a cement mixer with him, which means, I presume, that slabs/flags will be going down today.

I have to take Rufus for his walk in a short while. The cats are due at the vet at 11am for the remainder of their jabs and I want to wear him out so I can leave him at home sleeping in the kitchen – where he can do no damage. He had a naughty day yesterday.

Then I’ll be packaging up the book I’ve been proof-reading so it can go back. Then I can finally start on some writing. I have a lot to catch up with.

4 thoughts on “Quagmire

  1. I hope it all stops soon. If it was cuts-related or whatever, the rioters would be targeting the people making the cuts, not people in the same situation as they are. These are not “protestors”. They are people who like to destroy for destruction’s sake.

    Like

  2. Carol

    Hope the work on the garden was able to progress.
    These riots are led by opportunist criminals with little care for their own communities. Excuses such as these are deprived areas are an insult to the normal folk that get on with their lives there, they are not DEPRIVED OF MORALS, as are the rioters.
    There, I don’t often rant, but right now I’m disgusted.
    Anyway, she is absolutely gorgeous and the proud grandmother will send you a photo.

    Like

Comments are closed.