Raring to go (list alert)

I came home from the Edinburgh Book Festival inspired and motivated. If there’s something a writer needs to get revved up, it’s to be surrounded by other writers. One thing I got out of Val McDermid’s lecture was to finish something, even if it’s rubbish. I determined not to start anything new until I finish one thing.

I also determined that Monday (yesterday) was the day that I get back into work. I’ve had a couple of months off since I left Tata, although I did shift 3 activity annuals and 3 proof-reading jobs, I used some of my redundancy money on the dog, the house and the short break – mostly so I can “see” some of it, and I’ve had an enjoyable but lazy time recharging the old batteries.

Now, however, procrastination time is over. Here, then, is my list for this week. (I’ve stopped doing daily lists because I was never achieving it all.) You come into it a bit too, though, in case you have any thoughts or opinions on no5:

  1. Edinburgh Book Festival blog n pics 
  2. BCJ assignment 4
  3. We Also Served: voices from our National Service book proposal
  4. Night Crawler on Smashwords
  5. EITHER 0 The Fool (Tarot, poss YA) OR Catch the Rainbow (Birmingham pub bombings saga/mystery)?
  6. Set up new FB group Seriously Serious Short Story Scribes 
  7. BCJ assignment 5
  8. Read mate’s script
  9. Send out 3 lots of 3 article ideas to 3 magazines
  10. Raise invoice.

I really have 2 queries on no5. Firstly, I’m not sure which to go with in order to get a project finished. Both are planned out, both are at approximately 15,000 words. Secondly, I’m wondering if the Tarot series could be re-targeted at the Young Adult market. Suggestions and thoughts are most welcome. You know where.

You can see I’ve already done a few of these jobs. Hopefully there will be run of ticks down the side by the end of the week.

4 thoughts on “Raring to go (list alert)

  1. Catch the Rainbow is the next mystery after Night Crawler, correct? Get it out there, so that you’ve got a solid start on the series, and readers have more than one book.

    I don’t think the tarot piece should be YA. Tarot is a very touchy thing for minors, because of all the hormonal/emotional changes, and most ethical teachers wouldn’t take on anyone under eighteen, so writing a tarot-based piece for/about teens is a tightrope, unless you’ve got the teen trained by family members.

    Like

    1. Catch the Rainbow is a prequel to Night Crawler. Marcie Craig has a cameo appearance, aged 10. The 1st sequel to Night Crawler is The Beast Within, planned but no writing as yet. The 2nd sequel is Snowblind, ditto. The 3rd and 4th are Killer Queen and Fear of the Dark, neither with very much planning.

      Catch the Rainbow is my first historical, if 1974 can be classed historical. It’s the sequel to Hattie’s Hotshots, set in the 1950s, which in turn is a sequel to Cider and Sympathy, set at the start of the last century. Both planned but no writing.

      0: The Fool is the first in a new series, I have 15,000 words written and it’s planned. But I only have storylines for 2: The High Priestess and 12: The Hanged Man so far. The Suit(s) of Wands, Swords, Pentacles and Cups are anthologies of short stories.

      I also have 15,000 words written of a standalone, Laguna Sunrise, which is a romance/mystery.

      I think Catch the Rainbow is the more solid of the choices.

      Thanks for the YA feedback. It’s quite a new idea to me so maybe I should come up with something especially for that … erm, once I’ve finished a few of the others … 🙂

      Like

  2. Carol

    I can’t advise especially as I am staggered by the amount on the go and already planned.
    Go with what you are most comfortable with and it feels to me that it would be Catch the Rainbow.

    Like

Comments are closed.