Make your mind up time

It’s 1 September, the start of a new academic year. I have no further study to start but I do have a few to finish. I also need to decide which novel I’m going to finish and fast.

Will it be 0: The Fool, of which I have 15,000 words written and a full plan? Will it be Catch the Rainbow, of which I have 15,000 words written and a full plan? Or will it be Laguna Sunrise, of which I have 15,000 words written (do you see a pattern here?) and no plan? (Ah.)

The Fool is a contemporary mystery and the first of a series of Tarot-based novels. Catch the Rainbow is a historical mystery based on the Birmingham pub bombings of 1974. It’s also a prequel to Night Crawler, published last year. Laguna Sunrise is a contemporary mystery/romance.

The Fool and Catch the Rainbow need to be at least 75,000 words each. Laguna Sunrise can be 50,000 – 60,000 words. The Fool needs research and Tarot readings. Catch the Rainbow needs research and interviews. Laguna Sunrise needs research.

I know I’ve asked this before, but I always have been one for taking on board suggestions, constructive criticism, advice, etc. I don’t always do what people suggest, but I always consider what they have to say. I’ve kind of made up my mind, I think, but I’m interested in what others (aka the readership) also think.

So for one last time (this time) it’s over to you.

  1. 0: The Fool
  2. Catch the Rainbow
  3. Laguna Sunrise

Thank you very much. 🙂

10 thoughts on “Make your mind up time

  1. I would love to see you start with Catch the Rainbow for selfish reasons. I’m hoping to buy Night Crawler, and if I like a book I always love to read others connected to it.

    Also the 70’s is an era I’m growing more and more interested in. I was born in 1970 so a lot of it I don’t remember, and the setting sounds like an unusual one for a mystery, instead of a political thriller.

    Like

  2. On a business level, CATCH THE RAINBOW makes the most sense, since Marcie is a character (even as a child) and you can tie in to the momentum from NIGHT CRAWLER. You don’t want to leave too much time between books and frustrate readers.

    Of course, I’m drawn to THE FOOL, because it’s tarot, but on a business level, I think it makes the most sense to push through on RAINBOW and then do FOOL and then do LAGUNA. It gives you both follow up and dynamic in your release pattern.

    Like

    1. Yes, it does make business sense. I’m drawn to something fresh, but I really, really have to finish something.

      They’re voting on Facebook too, which is nice. 🙂

      Like

  3. Carol

    I agree with Devon, you need to put your business head on, in which case it’s CATCH THE RAINBOW.
    Then you will enjoy writing the others as something completely different.
    I almost sound like someone who’s got loads of experience of this!!

    Like

    1. You should know, you’re interested enough in lots of writers. And you have experience of me too, so you know what I’m like. More importantly, you’re a reader too.

      Yup, Catch the Rainbow does seem to be romping ahead.

      Like

  4. Andre

    I’m drawn towards Catch The Rainbow too. The Fool sounds cool. I suspect RLS, our Spiritualist friend may have some pearls of wisdom on that one 🙂

    Like

  5. It feels to me that Catch the Rainbow is the one you’ve mentioned most in this blog – and it was certainly the one I remember you talking about most in Edinburgh. So that’s my vote. 🙂

    Like

Comments are closed.