Fair week’s work

Well, it’s official. I’m apparently entitled to full job seeker’s allowance for the first time in 30 years, if I want it. I was quite impressed with the job centre. Last time I signed on it was still the DHSS and the offices were some of the worst places in the history of man. At least it’s civilised now, and computerised, and … pleasant.

I have to go back again on Tuesday and then I have to return every 2 weeks – so some things don’t change. The money will help me eke out the redundancy pay a little longer, and I can still work for under 16 hours a week while I’m getting sorted and looking for more substantial work. I also think I’ll get free prescriptions, dental treatment and optician appointments.

When I got home 2 rather nice young men were fitting my new guttering. This is the last of the jobs I decided to get done with some of my redundancy money, and it’s not before time either. My gutter was leaking so badly in 2 places it was more like a run, and the next door neighbour had the same problem right over her front door. We have 2 green trails down the stone walls where the water’s been running for too long.

But now we have nice, tidy, moulded uPVC, designed to look at least a little like the old timber guttering it replaces. I have 2 new downpipes, too: one at the front that runs across and down the pavement (not in front of my house), and one at the back that goes into the drain I share with the other next door neighbour.

I had a good week, despite a slow start, and I managed to get the following done on my list:

  1. Walk dog daily √ √ √ √  (today)
  2. Update blog on “working” days √ √  √ √  
  3. Daily household chores √ √ √ (today)
  4. Diary work  √ 
  5. Update gig list √ 
  6. Proof-read REs book (today)
  7. Appointment at job centre 
  8. BCJ Tutorial 6 (today)
  9. Invoicing (today)
  10. Book-keeping (today)

Today’s going to be busy … I also managed the following extras:

  1. Book marketing √ 
  2. Daily competitions √ √ √ (started Tuesday)
  3. Instigate search party to find necessary documents for job centre appointment 
  4. Make coffee for rather nice young men fitting guttering 

I’m happy with that.

Chores and shopping day tomorrow (baking, washing, ironing, etc), but on Sunday I’m taking Rufus on another slightly longer walk. His daily walk is getting gradually longer and he seems to enjoy days out to somewhere different. There should actually be 7 ticks for the dog walking and household chores, but I’m not counting Saturday and Sunday in my lists.

Have a great weekend.

6 thoughts on “Fair week’s work

  1. I’m glad you got the jobseeker’s allowance sorted out, that must be a weight off your mind.

    Rufus definitely sounds like he’s getting to be a big boy who knows what he likes 🙂

    Like

  2. Rufus has probably been sneaking the bacon 🙂

    Every time I read your lists I tell myself to more organised, but somehow making a list never quite makes the list!

    I hope balancing the freelancing and the JC’s requirements works out for you. I was surprised they could be so civilised about those of us with an unconventional working existence. Sign of the times, perhaps.

    Like

    • Rufus isn’t allowed titbits. He gets his own food and treats and that’s it. What’s on my plate is mine.

      I’m good with lists, not everybody is.

      Like

Comments are closed.