A bit of a throat …

That’s all I need, a bit of a throat. But it’s also turned into a bit of a neck too. I hope my glands aren’t swollen.

I didn’t go to SYNED yesterday evening (boo!) as I had work to do (hurrah!), and my Brucie bonus for this week is our local meeting isn’t on Wednesday either. I thought this Wednesday was the 3rd one of the month, but I was looking at Thursdays … I do still have to be at the job centre again this afternoon, though.

The wind didn’t drop all day, in fact it got stronger, blowing the cat kennel around the yard. (Good job Rufus is happy back indoors again.) So I didn’t hang any washing out. Maybe today. I caught up with some BCJ work, did the diary for this week (it’s pencilled in a month in advance, but I like to finalise and confirm it every week, so I know I’m busy), and did some more proof-reading.

Relatively good news that came in yesterday was that my book proposal, the National Service one, has been passed to a commissioning editor. My own editor likes it and thinks it “sounds promising”, so there’s another hurdle cleared. I did feel a bit giddy for a while at the thought, I will admit. I was delighted that my own editor liked it enough to pass it along.

Last night I said “bedtime” to the animals, and they all raced upstairs. Well, Holly and Domino bounced up the stairs, Rufus “raced” as fast as his new-found skill let him. It was really quite sweet and amusing.

I’m off to my appointment after lunch, so here’s the to do list for this week – I know you’re all dying go see it:

  1. BCJ tutorial 6 
  2. diary work 
  3. proof-reading 
  4. job centre appointment
  5. gig list
  6. book marketing (almost forgot …)
  7. BCJ tutorial 7 (no assignment 6)
  8. book-keeping (in prep for tax return)
  9. BCJ assignment 7
  10. BCJ tutorial 8
  11. tax return
  12. BCJ assignment 8
  13. invoices (hurrah!)
  14. banking (transfer wages)
  15. update blog (work day) daily
  16. walk dog daily
  17. daily household chores

(gulp)

I don’t need a bit of a throat this week, thank you.

4 thoughts on “A bit of a throat …

  1. Well done on the book proposal – sounds like good news could be coming your way 🙂
    I had to laugh at the sore throat cures – I’ve had a sore throat this week – my response is hot chocolate with Baileys. It leaves you with a lovely warm soothed feeling LOL. Though I am running dangerously short of Baileys, so I need to throw it off soon! (Have been taking echinacea as well, mind).

    Been a bit out of touch because laptop is messing about. How is BCJ work going? Enjoyable challenge or drag? 🙂

    Like

    1. Hey, nice to see you here. 🙂

      The BCJ course …? Let’s say I wouldn’t be as happy had I paid the full price, but the price I got it for, it’s ok. A lot of stuff I already know, so that’s like a refresher, some of it I didn’t know, so that’s useful, but some of it just won’t happen in the UK in the current climate. But it’s a good discipline – exercises the freelance muscle.

      Like

Comments are closed.