Progress

I think Rufus is ready for a longer walk, or an extra walk, or maybe a quick walk before bedtime. He’s getting fidgety during the night and started the pitter-patter-pet shuffle at 3:50am this morning, with Holly and Domino taking it in turns to go out and come back in again between then and 6:30am.

We went for a walk around the village yesterday – I did the outstanding invoice from Friday and we went to post it. We found a lonely pony in the paddock next to the cemetery, poor pup hasn’t quite worked out horses or ponies yet, and kept him company for a while, then on the way back I was delighted to see cattle back in the sheds on our beef farm.

There are 4 working farms in the village, a beef, a dairy, a mixed and a wheat, plus another on either side on the roads in and out. I was saddened when I saw there were no cows on the beef farm after the last cattle scare, but they definitely have animals in there now, so that’s promising.

One of the farms on the outskirts lost its farmer when he committed suicide recently and a friend of mine who works on our mixed farm has been helping out there too. I don’t know the details but that was quite a shock.

I made some progress on the writing front. I checked and submitted my Christmas story to my fave market for my September sub, I finished a BCJ tutorial and think the assignment is one I might be able to use again and again, and I queried a travel website with a hotel review from my recent trip to Edinburgh.

I also reported for work on Catch the Rainbow and I hope that starts to flow again soon. I’m thinking of changing it from third person to first as my characterisation tends to be better that way, and that might be part of what’s sticking me.

The heating is officially ON, although quite low. This could be contributing to Rufus and his fidgety nights, he might be too warm.

Today I start the next BCJ tutorial while I wait for the previous assignment to settle. There’s no assignment 8 so that’s one thing less for me to worry about. I have the gig list to update, this week’s book marketing, a couple of fillers to finalise, and this evening I’m at Ramblers. I think my membership may have lapsed (don’t think they’ve taken their money), and I’m not sure I can justify the expense at the moment.

8 thoughts on “Progress

  1. Carol

    All seems to be as busy as ever for you. But, get writing and earning! ;o)
    I’m stumbling back into the land of the living and, hopefully, the land of the writing.
    Nothing too dramatic happening here, happily, just having both mums to go shopping for wedding outfits and staying for a bit, daughter and 2 grandchildren down for a few days and following on, this week, with loads of wedding preparations. Somehow I’m making the favours, silk flower arrangements and posies, table decorations etc……I suppose that’s what mums are for!
    BUT I have writing that I want to do. I think I’ll write a book about a woman who never said no and really did meet herself coming backwards.
    You should see my list, it pales all others into insignificance.
    Take care.

    Like

    1. I haven’t got the thermals out yet. It took me all my time to concede and put the heating on. I want to save something for when the proppa cold gets here. 😀

      Like

  2. I’m holding off on the heating, still – but then, my central heating is driven by a wood-burning stove, so it’s quite a bind once I’ve conceded it’s time to stoke it up! I’m just hoping we don’t spend weeks under snow for the third year on the trot.

    Sounds like you’re getting plenty of exercise with Rufus, if the rambling seems a bit pricey, but it’s a shame to give up the company when you work from home, isn’t it?

    Like

    1. I think I’d hold off too if I had solid fuel. It’s so much easier when you just have to press a button. If I didn’t work upstairs, I’d settle for just the living room fire, and I still do that if I can work downstairs on my lap. In fact, that will happen when it gets really cold.

      Like

Comments are closed.