Ticks and crosses

I’ve started to get up earlier because I can’t fit everything in to one day. I’m sleeping slightly better too, but if the dog wants out the dog wants out. The cats will play up, let me go all the way downstairs, and just want company while they have something to eat. But with the dog, he usually wants out. His walk  is normally booked in for 5pm, but three times this week it’s been much later than that, and once I kept it to the streets because it was already dark.

I’ve had to revisit my budget. My petrol spend has come right down since I left work, but my supermarket bill went right up. I shifted it from £40 a week to £50 with the recent rise in prices and with me getting an extra mouth to feed. But I reckon if I do more baking and home cooking again I can get that back down to £40. This is food, cleaning agents, other bits and bobs. Everything. And it’s above the recommended guideline for a single person.

I’ve cancelled things like my National Trust and English Heritage memberships. I can’t afford them when there aren’t that many properties close by and when they’re starting to charge for parking (in some NT properties). Also, dogs aren’t welcome in the houses and there’s no way I’m leaving him in the car for longer periods than necessary.

I DO get council tax benefit now I’m on Job Seeker’s Allowance, but I don’t know how much yet. Most of the other benefits are only available if you’re on income related JSA.

The weekend is more shopping and chores, I’d like to clear a bit more ironing. Then on Sunday we’re off to Birmingham to see my parents.

How am I doing on that list?

  1. (work day) daily blog √ √ √ √ √
  2. BCJ 7 √
  3. BCJ 8 √
  4. weekly invoices √
  5. walk dog daily √ √ √ √
  6. weekly shopping √
  7. household chores √ √ √ √
  8. BCJ 9
  9. WB 9
  10. Catch the Rainbow (work day) daily √ √ √ √
  11. weekly gig list √
  12. weekly book marketing √
  13. BCJ 10
  14. Ramblers X
  15. diary work √
  16. weekly admin √
  17. road trip to Birmingham
  18. BCJ 11
  19. job shop
  20. BCJ 12
  21. book-keeping
  22. tax return

Extras:

  1. submit Christmas story to fave market √
  2. submit 1 query (hotel review, Edinburgh) √
  3. LOTS of market study work for fillers, short articles and flash fiction √
  4. (work day) daily competitions √ √ √ √ √

Wa-wa-wa- WOW!

Have a great weekend.

8 thoughts on “Ticks and crosses

    1. This is why I do lists and ticks and things. I feel as though I’m busy doing nothing all week and that I never have anything to show for it. At least if I have the list and tick it and add to it as I go along, I know where my time has gone.

      There could have been more ticks, though … 😉

      Like

  1. You’re so organised, I’m impressed.
    I’m currently negotiating with our local council over repayment of something, and I’ve been told that my budget of £100 per week for two adults and two teenagers for food, laundry, cleaning and bathroom products is too high!

    Like

    1. Before I started watching what I spent I could spend more than that on just 2 of us, and was spending £75 a week on just me for a while.

      I don’t know how the people who come up with these recommendations do it, and I bet they wouldn’t cope, but it might be worth bobbing along to the money saving experts (old style) for tips and a weekly grocery shopping challenge: http://forums.moneysavingexpert.com/forumdisplay.php?f=33 This is also where my daily comps are, all in one place, but if I don’t time it I can end up staying there all day.

      Like

  2. You’re doing well. It’s disgusting that the NT is now charging for parking. When you cancel your membership, make sure you mention it. If enough people cancel and tell them why, maybe they’ll rethink it.

    Like

    1. If they underestimated the number of cars that would visit and need to spend more on maintenance and car parking, then fair enough – but they should factor it into the membership and admission prices. If they’ve just seen an opportunity to make more money, it’s totally wrong and not what the NT was set up for. Either way, it’s an additional charge on top of what people have already paid, including people just paying admission. How can we budget for days out when extras are thrown in at the property gate?

      Like

  3. Carol

    You’re doing really well. You have reminded me, the NT overcharged me months ago and promised to repay, sure enough, I’ve not seen the repayment yet. It’s so annoying when you have to chase these things especially from what should be a reputable charity.

    Like

    1. I’m starting to think that should say what used to be a reputable charity. I’m hearing nothing but complaints about them at the moment. I hope you get your money back.

      Like

Comments are closed.