A bostin’ weekend

(“Bostin” rhymes with “lost in” – a mate of mine here thought it rhymed with “roast in” – and I drop the “g” off the end. It’s a Brummie thing.)

I had such great plans for the weekend by the end of Friday. I was going to do loads of chores, including a big batch of baking because I want to try making my own pizzas. But I ended up working on Saturday. This is unusual because I take the weekend off to do all the things I don’t get around to in the week, like housework.

When I woke up I was raring to go, just not in the kitchen – although I did put some washing through, I did keep on top of the dishes, and I did scrub the yard. I also took the dog for a trot and I did the weekly shop.

By teatime I’d also written 2 first drafts and 2 outlines, and before I settled down for the evening I thought I’d rattle off another first draft and 2 second drafts. All articles, short or fillers. I didn’t get onto any third drafts because the third draft is the first typed one, and I couldn’t be bothered to boot the laptop up in the time I had left.

I felt really good by the end of the day, though. I felt as though I’d achieved something tangible at last – although this is what happens when I plan, plan and more plan. At some point it’s ready to burst and when I’m on a roll …

Sunday was tied up all day with a run down to see Mom and Dad, after I hung some washing out and another dog walk. That’s a 212 mile round trip. The road trip, not the walk … 😮

I think Rufus has a loose tooth and he doesn’t know what to do with it. His teeth are brilliantly white at the moment. I’d love for him to keep them that way.

Today I have 2 assignments to do, I have an hour or 1,000 words (ish) to spend on Catch the Rainbow, even if that’s just staring at the page or adding 1 or 2 words, and I’ll do some more article/filler work as I feel like it/can fit it in. I need these articles out there now, earning their keep.

So, this week – or the rest of September (can you believe that already?) – looks like this:

  1. daily blog 
  2. daily comps 
  3. BCJ assignment 7
  4. BCJ assignment 9
  5. Catch the Rainbow
  6. walk dog daily
  7. BCJ tutorial 10
  8. BCJ tutorial 11
  9. job shop
  10. gig list for October
  11. BCJ assignment 11
  12. BCJ tutorial 12
  13. BCJ assignment 12
  14. weekly invoices
  15. weekly admin

That’s do-able.

4 thoughts on “A bostin’ weekend

Comments are closed.