A little niggle …

Friday was manic with all the running around.

Rufus either has worms or “garbage gut”. I’m trying him on just one kind of food at the moment (dry, complete) and several small meals throughout the day rather than one big one at night. This is to eliminate any one kind of food that could be upsetting him, and to give his stomach something to digest rather than itself.

It means the cats are on dry complete too, but they don’t seem too worried about that and there aren’t so many leftovers. Rufus has also had another worming tablet, a big one, and some medicine to settle his stomach – so far the only vomiting he’s done since has been the medicine to settle his stomach …

I killed 2 birds with one stone and felt very smug – I walked the dog to the vet and back. 😀  And, once all my errands were done, I was back home, as expected, at 7pm.

Saturday we were up early and in town sorting out outfits (or part outfits) for a fancy dress 50th birthday party we’re going to this weekend. We had quite a busy, full day out in the end, collected a quick tea (while walking the dog), and were out by 9pm for the first of 2 gigs. We didn’t see 2 full sets of either band, but we did see the 1st set for both of them. One was in a Rotherham pub, one was in a Rotherham club. We would have loved to stay at the club, but a 1am finish after an early start was too much for me.

Sunday was chill and chat.

The thing I’m worried about is … My brand new guttering is leaking at the join with next door, who had hers done at the same time. The gutter man wanted to get over Friday teatime or Saturday day, but it’s rained the whole time and he’s not allowed up there in the rain. Also, any sealant won’t work either. He will get back just as soon as he can, though. However … One of my brand new fence posts has moved and is leaning to the extent that the gate attached to it won’t close properly without me lifting the gate post.

Neither of these things should happen when both jobs are brand new and were well done – and very expensive. I’m wondering now if there’s been a landslip … Just a teensy, weensy niggle … Has my house moved again? Is that likely to cause movement in brand new guttering and fencing? And, more importantly, do I keep the suspicion to myself when the respective tradesmen make their re-visits?

I’m back at the doc’s later this week. I want to get this lump on my Achilles tendon checked properly and not get told it’s arthritis or old age.

I’ve not heard back from my last 2 BCJ assignments, so they’ll be getting a rocket up their backsides a bit later on today.

I’ve not heard back from the job I applied for last week either, not even an acknowledgement, so I’m taking the details to the job centre with me tomorrow so they at least know I applied for it, but so they can also chase if they can.

10 thoughts on “A little niggle …

  1. Looks like this week is all tidying up unfinished business!

    I’d keep the land movement suspicion to yourself. It’s more likely that they just didn’t *quite* finish the jobs properly.

    It’s very common for companies not to acknowledge applications – in fact, it’s the norm. Not something necessarily to worry about, although you could ring and ask if they’ve made a shortlist for interviews yet. Get too uppity and they’ll take you off the list – and you CAN’T afford to do that if most companies operate this way. And it’s a fact that time will be passing more slowly for you waiting for a response than for them sifting through dozens/hundreds of applications!

    I hope Rufus and the ankle improve this week.

    Like

    1. I have no mail address or phone number, it was all done by email and via the job centre. I’ll just take it along as evidence that I applied for a job, before *they* get uppity.

      Like

  2. Carol

    I agree, it does sound more like ‘snagging’ problems and would just get them back.
    Companies these days do not generally acknowledge applications, the usual reason being that they can be overwhelmed. However I phoned up to check one application once and they were really snotty with me and I never heard anything more….I was really nice on the phone as well!
    Hope Rufus is ok now and you get sorted with your ankle.
    Busy week ahead of me now, so not sure how much I’ll be around.
    The poetry reading went well, people laughed in the right places – amazing!
    Take care

    Like

    1. Yes, I thought it was just snagging too, but for both jobs to have problems? Just sets my imagination off.

      Was the poetry supposed to be funny?! 😀

      Good luck with everything this week.

      Like

  3. I hope Rufus feels better soon!

    Whether things have shifted or not, a local tradesman should know enough to calculate it into the work. They need to make it right, at no charge.

    A place that’s so unprofessional as to not even acknowledge your application is not worth working for. You’re well rid of them! I don’t care if that’s the norm now; it’s still unprofessional.

    Like

    1. It’s an American company and I did think they might have more manners. Closing date is a way off yet, though. Maybe they’ll acknowledge it then.

      Like

Comments are closed.