Happy bunny

I had another steady, busy day yesterday, but not as frantic as the day before.

I got the gig list uploaded for November and was delighted to see the bands and venues are starting to come on board to the new way of doing things. I used to trawl through more than 150 websites every week lifting gigs, but it became more than a full-time job and people weren’t bothering to send me amendments or cancellations – and that made the gig list look bad.

So I switched to getting them to email me if they wanted their gigs on the list. A lot didn’t bother, so I was glad I’d stopped bothering with them. But now new bands are finding their way to the gig list and asking to be included. And they’re sending amendments as they come in.

I’ve made it really easy for them. They can email me, send me a message on Facebook, or paste their gigs into the guestbook, from where my mate can also lift them and copy them into the gig list. The guestbook is being spammered to bits at the moment, but we’re hoping we can sort that out.

The book marketing also got done, but the article outline wasn’t started. I wanted to finish reading another mate’s film script as I’m meeting him this evening for an hour with my feedback.

An email came in from the writers’ group I’m speaking at in November, my old Solihull Writers’ Workshop. They’d asked me if I wanted a fee and I’d said no but they could help with petrol if they wanted. Well, they’ve decided they want to pay me a fee that will more than cover petrol too, so that’s nice. I have to order some paperbacks of Night Crawler to take with me to sell as well as the 3 gratis hardbacks I have for them for all their help when I was writing the book.

I had a diary session because I received an email from the publishers I proof for saying there was another book on the way. At the moment this work is my priority. They’re not the highest payers, but they pay quickly and without argument, and they send me lots of work.

The tax return didn’t get started either and I plan to spend the rest of today on that – not that the tax return takes all day, of course. It’s the sorting out the receipts and the recording income and expenses that takes the time. When I was doing this before, book-keeping was done as I went along. I’m going to have to get into that habit again. The actual tax return is so easy it won’t even take me 5 minutes.

I checked the job board this morning and while there’s still nothing suitable in either my field or my region, there was a project editor vacancy with a London-based company where the editor co-ordinates freelance editors and proof-readers. So I got the contact details and fired off a letter and my CV asking if they’re looking for freelancers. It may not come to anything, but that’s how I first got in touch with the publishers I currently proof-read for and they didn’t even have any vacancy.

This evening I’m off out for an hour to have a natter and a swift gargle with my script-writing chum.

4 thoughts on “Happy bunny

Comments are closed.