Keep calm, carry on (multi list alert)

Last week was a crazy week. I got loads done – just one job not ticked, but lots of extras thrown in – and I worked late 3 nights out of 5. I forgot to eat, so grazed on chocolate and cake, and basically lost control. But at least I got loads done.

  • daily comps 
  • daily blog 
  • rush job proof-read 
  • daily dog walk 
  • car in for brakes 
  • trip to vet 
  • visit to the publisher 
  • job centre 
  • daily household chores 
  • wormed dog 
  • weekly book marketing 
  • November gig list 
  • ordered 10 copies of Night Crawler for speaking event 
  • diary work 
  • caught up on 5 years of book-keeping 
  • finished reading mate’s film script 
  • tax return 
  • plan an article 
  • invoices (hurrah!) 
  • weekly household chores 
  • weekend visitor 
  • 1 gig for mate’s birthday 
  • 1 long dog walk 

Phew! What did I skip?

  • draft one of an article (tut, tut) X

Who else is tired just reading that lot? I was shattered.

We had a good weekend, though. Nice and relaxing. We went shopping on Saturday to find a birthday gift for my friend, and failed dismally, but still had something to give to her. We went out Saturday night with said birthday friend. And on Sunday we walked Rufus around a local boat club that’s really dog friendly … but a Staffordshire Bull Terrier pup went for Rufus, locking its jaw on his ear and taking 5 of us to separate them without drawing blood.

I would have been furious with the owners, but the girl was already in hysterics trying to prise her dogs jaws open with her fingers. It wouldn’t have helped the situation had I started ranting and raving the way I’ve sometimes been known to. I am furious, though. We were lucky, it was only a pup and did no damage whatsoever to Rufus, physically. But people shouldn’t own dangerous dogs if they can’t control them, let alone take them out to mix with loads of other dogs. Next time the dog will be bigger, stronger, and it may be a child he bites.

Not good enough.

Once free, Rufus laffed his head off and romped off to play with another dog – just as soon as the Staffie’s male owner satisfied himself that there was no damage done.

This week is another busy week, but I will stop for food 3 times a day, I will eat it away from the computer, and I will clock off at a respectable time. Here’s the list – those of a nervous disposition should look away now:

  • daily comps
  • daily blog
  • draft 1 article 1 (from last week)
  • draft 2 article 2
  • draft 3 article 3
  • dentist (gulp)
  • proof-read 1 book
  • walk dog daily
  • daily household chores
  • NaNoWriMo (um …)
  • weekly gig list update
  • weekly book marketing
  • edit & sub article 4
  • plan article 5
  • meet scriptwriting mate
  • draft 1 article 6
  • draft 2 article 1
  • draft 3 article 2
  • edit & sub article 3
  • plan article 7 😮
  • draft 1 article 5
  • read meter for energy provider
  • car insurance
  • invoices (hurrah!)
  • weekly household chores
  • weekend visitor
  • 1 long dog walk
  • poss bonfire night party
  • poss bonfire weekend gig

Shake a leg, Diane.

Happy Halloween!

8 thoughts on “Keep calm, carry on (multi list alert)

  1. Carol

    Whew, I feel proper faint!
    Driving through Holmfirth today I noticed your’s (and mine) favourite cafe has changed hands. It’s now called Emma’s Tea Rooms or similar. I’ve not been for a few weeks so it’s taken me by surprise.

    Like

    1. You’ll have to try it out and let me know if it’s worth me coming up. We could have a NaNoWriMo write-in, if you’re doing it … then again, we’d probably just spend the time nattering. 🙂

      Like

  2. Elaine Everest

    Poor Rufus! I must add that Staffies are not ‘dangerous dogs’ but like all dogs they need to be trained and kept on a lead in a public place. Good luck woith Nano I’m off to write today’s 1667 words now.
    x

    Like

    1. Thank you, and good luck to you too!

      In my book any dog that’s dangerous is a dangerous dog, they don’t have to be a “dangerous” breed, particularly as some of those can be the softest puddings in the world – if trained and controlled properly.

      xx

      Like

Comments are closed.