Thursday 8 December 2011

I had a full-on day yesterday with certain jobs starting to take longer than anticipated.

Take the book marketing, for instance. Night Crawler is in so many different formats and places that that’s a big job all by itself. Then there are the other books I’ve written or proof-read, the list of which gets longer and longer. And now there are short stories published as ebooks.

It’s fantastic, it really is, and teeny tiny royalties are finally starting to creep up (just not enough to justify too many cheques just yet). But it’s taking me longer and longer to plug them and I try not to plug every day because I don’t want to lose any of my FB friends or Twitter followers because I’m boring them. So I keep it to once a week.

I think I’m now going to have to increase it from one hour a week to 2 hours, though. Once I find the jpgs and the links it’s not too bad, but it is starting to get a tad time-consuming. Or maybe once a fortnight …

Then I settled down to write draft 2 of a travel feature. Draft 2s are usually quite quick but for this one there were lots of details and facts I wanted to check, so what should have taken just another hour took most of the afternoon. I think it’s a good feature, though. I’ve over-written it (word-count-wise rather than purple-prose-wise) so I have some top, tail and cutting to do. But that will make it a much tighter, pacier read.

By the time I’d finished work it was 7pm and the dog was nagging me for his imaginary walk. So I ordered a burger for tea and took him to go and collect it. By 9pm I was ready to settle down in front of Erin Brockovich for a few hours. I love that film, but I do need to be in the mood for it.

Today I’m working on the media liaison marketing pack and the pitch for the nutter magnet project, as well as Catch the Rainbow. If I have time I’ll go back and finish what I didn’t do yesterday. Thursdays are usually quite relaxed.

Usually …

Oh, and I have another story available on Ether Books for only 69p to download. The Spirit of the Wind.  (You need the app.)

2 thoughts on “Thursday 8 December 2011

  1. Haven’t had chance to catch up with everything yet but you sound well and busy at least.
    Hopefully things should be back to a bit more like ‘normal’ next week although I fore see some busy times.
    Eyes down, keep at it and take care.

    Like

Comments are closed.