Wednesday 14 December 2011

The big news of the day is, I found my wellies. This means I can walk the dog and not worry about getting my trainers muddy or my feet wet or my jeans soaked. I’m not out long enough in them for my feet to get cold and I can swill them down in the yard (so long as pervy nextdoorman doesn’t report me). I never thought I’d be so pleased to see a pair of wellington boots.

I also had another major de-clutter yesterday. This time it was, ahem, the post-in tray I was supposed to be keeping on top of. And I have. I’ve been filling it religiously every day. I’ve just not been opening the post or dealing with correspondence unless I’ve known what it was and if it was urgent, like money.

So I emptied the post-in tray and filled the post-out tray with correspondence I posted with Rufus on our imaginary walk (in my wellies!). I also filled to capacity and then emptied again the shredding tray. Three box-loads of shredding went into the paper recycle bin along with a pile of magazines and a load of junk mail (removed from post-in tray).

The cardboard recycle bin has been full for a fortnight, but when we put our bins out then we forgot our council workers were on strike, so they didn’t get emptied. Our dustmen are, I believe, contractors, but the municipal tips they needed to take the rubbish to would have been closed. So our recycle bins weren’t emptied a fortnight ago.

For the first time in about a year I have all 3 recycle bins out on the kerb waiting to be emptied. The regular rubbish bin is also almost full, but that won’t be emptied until next week.

I found my wellies when I was looking for a picture hook to hang a picture in the study that’s been getting on my nerves in the lounge for about 6 months. I found the picture hook too and the picture, a mock-up magazine cover my deputy editor did when I left Tata, now hangs over my desk. The colours even go with the décor and it makes me smile every time I look at it now, instead of keep getting under my feet.

The flash from the camera spoils it a little, but I think you get the picture, so to speak. The headlines say: Parkin seeks fresh challenge; Give me heavy metal not molten metal, says Diane, p3; Communication Breakdown tops Parkin’s favourite record poll, p11; and Super injunction fails to hide truth behind Diane Parkin’s move, p22.

The photograph is my favourite, but we were never allowed to use it because it shows a blow-out during a test we were doing and, of course, we never had any blow-outs … I’ll probably get into trouble for posting it on here now …

While I was in the cubby hole, rummaging for picture hooks and wellies, I dug out another picture that’s followed me around since 1996 when I left the National Grid. This one was given to me by my boss … I have no idea what he’s trying to suggest …

So I found another picture hook and this one is now on the wall above my shiny new printer.

The office area is feeling a bit more homely now I have familiar things filling the blank spaces on the walls. All I need do now is continue with the mass de-clutter.

Oh, and get on with some work …

2 thoughts on “Wednesday 14 December 2011

  1. Lucky you to have kerbside recycling! We could have had it here in this Cumbrian village, but our parish council decided that we could take it to a village recycling area, so that they got the money for it. I don’t wholly hold it against them, but I suspect a lot of recyclable stuff ends up in the general rubbish because the recycling point is a mile or so from some houses that are technically in the village.

    Love the Tata cover. Somebody there had a sense of humour and an eye for a by line… 😉

    Like

    1. I recycle much more now they collect it from the kerb. The grey bin doesn’t get half as full as it used to.

      Andy was the photographer and on my editorial board. I made him deputy editor for exactly the reasons you state – and, of course, because he agreed with me most of the time. 🙂

      Like

Comments are closed.