Slow day

Today is a bit like wading through treacle.

I had a late start and was still quite tired after a bark-filled night. If I have the window open, the dog barks at everything and anything (he’s recently only discovered his bark properly); if I have the window closed, he gets too hot (hot sausage dog) and is very restless. As I was warm too, the window was opened … and the dog’s bark got lots of practise.

I’m plodding down the to-do list, though, even if I am a bit late with this. Maybe the dog walk after lunch will wake me up a bit. Or tire me out. Who knows?

In between jobs and chores (today it’s been gig list for January, proof-reading, writing) I’m thinking of what I want to achieve next year. I know I have to get Catch the Rainbow done, and I’d like to get a first draft of The Fool down too.

If I knew these were going to sell and if I was already living off royalties, I’d probably be able to write 3 novels in a year, be editing one while working on the next and while marketing another. But as I still have a living to start to earn, I need to do other stuff too. Maybe one day. (sigh)

So I need to factor in articles, queries, stories, fillers, letters, marketing, proof-reading and editing too. But as I don’t know if many of these will sell until they go out, and as I don’t know what books I have to work on until they come in, I’m not sure I can really measure any of this.

I know I need to earn £xx,xxx in a year just to make ends meet, but I don’t know how many of what I write will achieve that. So I have to do it per item or per submission, and I have to get the pitches out there so I get commissions, although experience last year taught me that even commissions aren’t always honoured …

And I need to get the novels circulating.

How do you measure what work you do? Do you do it by money or by item? And how do you ensure those sales?

4 thoughts on “Slow day

  1. He’s a good ‘un. His sense of smell and hearing is hundreds of time times greater than ours, and his instinct to protect himself and you is built in. He’s doing his job, looking after his ‘pack’. Your his pack. It’s his patch. He’s a wooluf 🙂

    Writing? Don’t you get insecure you. If you think about it, you’re stating the obvious. Think of it this way. You’re in a relationship. You want to make it work. But…?

    Do your thing. You’ve done ok 🙂

    Like

    • Oh, I’m ok with the barking – apart from it keeping me awake. I know he has to get used to which noises are ok and which ones need attention. He’s getting there, gradually, but he does like the sound of his own voice at the moment.

      I am feeling a bit insecure. I need some sales. I need lots of sales …

      Like

  2. I agree with Dray – he’s taking care of you 🙂

    I measure what I do with stickers – green stickers on my calendar when I send something out, then when I get loads of empty spaces it’s a kick up the backside to get something written and out there so I can stick another sticker up. Sadly it doesn’t ensure sales, but it does sort of keep me going.

    Like

    • Yes he is, bless him. 🙂

      I like the sound of your stickers. Appeals to my … I don’t know what the psychoanalysts call it, but I like to see colours and I love stickers. Especially stars. 🙂

      Like

Comments are closed.