Weekend interlude

This is a picture of my desk. And Domino. And why working at my desk doesn’t always work.

For those that like to know these things …

On the left hand notice board is an article I clipped out of Writers’ Forum by Douglas McPherson, The feature writer’s year. It’s a good reminder of what we should be thinking about and when, throughout the writing year.

On the right hand notice board is a budget (with far too much red on it) and last week’s to-do list (with lots of lovely ticks).

The 3-tier tray was almost empty before Christmas, when I had a mad de-clutter. But I’ve had another one since and there it is full again. The top tray is my to-do tray, also known as fiddly admin bits. The middle tray is filing. (Groan!) The bottom tray is shredding.

The black lamp has a pen tidy tray attached to it, but it usually houses my mobile phone and the calculator.

The computer is on a riser and has Facebook on it, but it’s been pushed to the back of the desk so I can work … ahem, or that’s the plan. I have separate full-sized keyboard and mouse plugged into the riser and the keyboard slots nicely over the top of the laptop when not in use.

That white box next to the laptop is my router and there’s another pen tidy next to it, this one with room for a cup or mug but which currently holds my paperclips magnetic dispenser thingy.

That’s the edge of the laser printer in the corner of the picture.

In the foreground was one of the books I was proofing for Pen & Sword on the Great War. You can see I use a green pen for this. That’s because I used to get told off for using a red one. Too upsetting and reminiscent of childhood … apparently … (Sigh.) If I’m proofing or editing my own work, it’s usually a red pen. I can see it better. And it doesn’t upset me. Honest.

And finally, ladies and gents, there is Domino, telling me to stop doing boring old work and play with her … or she’ll nick my pen. Oh, too late …

You can also see the corner of the ink-jet printer in the photograph below, a bit of the bin under the desk (with a charity bag lining it) and a cardboard lid covering the electric cables so Rufus can’t get at them … or that, again, is the plan.

4 thoughts on “Weekend interlude

  1. That is one beautifully organized desk. 🙂 Mine WAS organized, but I now have a mountain of paperwork to sort through. That always happens to me.

    Happy New Year! (And take some time out to play with Domino!) 🙂

    Like

  2. Carol

    It’s really interesting to see how other folk work. You are so organised. And yes I’m itching for the next list!

    Like

Comments are closed.