All clear

When I took Holly to the vet Tuesday night, we were there for 5 hours. Today it was her check-up. Because we were there so long before I took some work with me to do. I don’t normally do that, I might take a book to read or I’ll people watch, but I’ve never ever taken any work with me to do.

I got there 15 minutes early, found a seat and got my work out … and they called me. We were in and out in a flash, she was given the all clear, has some antibiotic tablets for the next week or so, and we were on our way home before it was even our appointment time.

On the way home the sat-nav took us a totally different way and we went past the back of Marks & Spencers at Meadowhall. Now, my slippers have been driving me nuts for about 2 months. I put a pair on my Christmas list, but didn’t get any. This week they’ve come close to being thrown through the window. So as we were passing M&S …

And they’ve gone up £2.50 since Christmas! That’s almost $4 and a 25% increase. They can’t blame the VAT rate for that. It’s shocking. BUT … I needed a pair of slippers … I’m calling them a Christmas present off my mom and dad as they’d given me some money and I’d not used any of it yet.

To save time, as the cat was in the car, I asked if they did cash back on the debit card. I needed to put back the donations I’d made to the PDSA for Holly’s treatment and could have nipped to the bank, but yes, M&S do cash back (up to £50).

We were home before we knew it. I made a bacon and mushroom sandwich for my lunch and am now back at work.

I have one book to get in the post back to the publisher, their second book this week has been put on hold in favour of a more urgent one. I have 3 column pitches to get out, 2 article pitches and the first of my markets articles. Then I have invoices to raise (hurrah!).

I might be finished by 10pm …

Tomorrow will be shopping, baking, batch-cooking, household chores; Sunday we’re walking with Ramblers.

Have a great weekend.

4 thoughts on “All clear

  1. Carol

    Poor little Holly. It’s such a worry when they are ill. Daughter is still here until tomorrow, but is discussing major life changes, so hopefully these may go ahead – they need to.
    Have a good weekend, it seems we have some improvement in the weather. I’m looking forward to getting back to a ‘normal’ routine!

    Like

  2. Teresa

    I’m glad Holly is doing well bless her 🙂
    It’s a bit off of M&S putting their prices up like that!
    Hope the weather is good for you on Sunday!

    Like

    1. I just found out too that Tesco have increased the price of their packs of knickers by £1.50 – or 30% – *and* they’ve taken a pair OUT, so you only get 4 pairs instead of 5. That’s a double whammy and a HIDDEN price hike.

      Like

Comments are closed.