Grumpy Diane

I wasn’t around much last week, was I? This is because I’ve been so busy and anything other than the work I have in made me feel guilty. Saying that, there were also 2 fairly draining episodes within a FB group I moderate that needed attention, including a major protest that we sent national and then viral.

The combination of stress and work (and possibly lack of funds at the moment) has caused the abscess on my jaw to flare up. This happens when I’m stressed or low, and as I’m not feeling very low … I can take anti-inflammatories and painkillers for it and see if it dies down again. If it doesn’t die down it means a trip to the dentist … and he’ll have to remove a healthy tooth so he can drain it (gulp) … OR root canal work (gulp).

I think we can all guess which way my fingers are crossed for.

We think we had the desired effect with the protest. A major national women’s weekly magazine is, basically, trying to fleece its short story writers. We’re sick of this keep happening and if we can’t convince the magazines to pay a decent wage to the people who fill their commercially viable pages then we have to convince the writers not to write for them.

We don’t work for free, thank you. Would you?

The diary has had an overhaul this week. I’m hoping I can shift 3 non-fiction books (proof-reading) and 2 short stories. I dropped one of the stories (for now) because it won’t make the deadline. I’ll use it eventually, though. I’ll just skip the Feb competition I was going to field it via first.

Working all week and all weekend is making Diane very grumpy. So with the diary overhaul I’m hoping to be finished by 6pm every day this week and have the weekend off – which was the original plan, but when needs must …

The Ramblers have a 6 mile easy Saturday afternoon walk over in Slaithwaite and I want to join them for that.

8 thoughts on “Grumpy Diane

    • I was going to nip to the chemist because I know we can get a clove oil remedy, but if vodka will also do the trick I already have some of that … funnily enough …

      Like

  1. I think you’re right about that 6pm deadline – if you can stick to that you can have some entertaining and distracting evenings with a DVD, Northern Lights and the animals. I’m sure that would help!

    If you hadn’t waded into the women’s magazine *thing*, you’d have felt bad. Sometimes you’ve got to risk the adrenaline drain to shout up for those who aren’t willing or able – and that includes the readers, who would find their fiction fix deteriorating rapidly. Gotta be done…

    Like

    • Oh yes, I couldn’t have kept away from it. As you say, some people are too scared to shout up for themselves and I’m hoping we gave them courage to do so. It was interesting to see some of the readers join in too. That was good. Very good.

      Yup, 6pm will give me chance to do chores, have tea, feed pets, have a bath, etc, and I like to be done by 9pm so I can settle in front of the telly or with my book.

      Like

  2. Pick up some cloves and honey from the supermarket.

    Grind a few cloves in a pestal – or anywhere actually, until a fine powder, and leave in a cup with hot, not boiling water for five mins with a spoonful of honey. Drink and gargle. Rince and and repeat:)

    I’ll not into the specifics – but look up on google or something. It helps until you can get some modern antibiotics.

    Would I work for free? A bit out of context, but, hmm, that’s a bugger. Yea. Sometimes. To keep my hand in, for the love of it, for the hell of it, and because it’s a craft I like to do. But as an income? I get where you’re coming from. xx

    Like

    • The chemist are getting me some clove oil for tomorrow. I won’t be at the supermarket again until the weekend. I suppose antibiotics is the next step before extraction … :/

      We forced an about turn from the magazine in question. šŸ™‚

      Like

    • Hey Vikki, nice to see you here. You’re very welcome.

      Yes, we did a bloody good job. It might not seem a lot to some, but we helped to force a complete turnaround there, something too many others were afraid to do.

      The teeth are okay again now – I have drugs. šŸ˜€ <— see?

      Like

Comments are closed.