Writing a business plan

I don’t know where the weekend went again, but it was most probably beneath a pile of work.

I had a meeting in town this morning, and I may be entitled to some financial support setting up my new business again. I know I’ve been doing the groundwork for the past few months, but if there’s assistance available, I’d like to try for it. This means I have to write a business plan, preferably before my next meeting next Tuesday. It’s been a long time since I last wrote a business plan. It’ll be a challenge, and fun, and interesting.

Tomorrow I have another appointment in town, this time at the optician. With all of the proof-reading I’ve done recently, I’ve noticed that my near-vision isn’t as great as it could be so I want to get some reading glasses while I’ll still get assistance with those.

While I’m in town I’ll drop off the latest book I finished proof-reading and last week’s invoice (hurrah!). I have another 3 books to proof already in, plus the novel still to edit – but we’re still awaiting the remote-access technology for that anyway. I also have a short story to finalise and submit and an article to get going on.

Later in the week I have another trip into town, this time to collect 2 parcels that Royal Mail were “unable to deliver” this morning, even though I was in … Go figure … Like I need an extra run out this week when I’m already so busy.

I have this basic Work in Progress list on my noticeboard now, and it’s been there for about 3 weeks. It’s brilliant and one of the best visual props I’ve tried. It has the commissioned stuff at the top and the on spec stuff at the bottom, and both lists have the actual or probable income that each job will earn.

When I’ve done the work, and invoiced for the commissioned stuff, the job gets crossed off. I can see at a glance what work I have left to do for this week or month and I can see how much I’m likely to earn from it too. It doesn’t include all the other guff I do, but It’s a good tool to have on hand.

Recently I’ve submitted 2 quotes for further proof-reading work. Both new clients – one a publishing company, one an individual. I’m still waiting to hear from those. And this morning I responded to a call for a British editor from a US publisher, and she’s replied already. I have a test to do and then, if she wants to hire me, there may be some negotiating.

At the weekend I heard from the new client I proof-read the novel for. He said I’d done a great job and that I’d more than earned my corn. That was nice feedback to receive when he was such a new client. Hopefully there will be more work from there in the near future.

This week is a good week for members of ALCS. It’s pay day week. Always a nice little bonus.

10 thoughts on “Writing a business plan

    • Yes, you’re right. I DO need to give myself the weekends and evenings off again. I just need to get on top of everything otherwise, what’s the point? 🙂

      Like

  1. I hope it goes well for you. Just a word, though – read the small print from the grant-giver. The ones around here became unpopular because of a clause which basically said they had the rights of publicity to your work – *even if it was detrimental to your business success*. It wasn’t so much that they could easily carry that out as most business people would be wily enough to avoid giving them that info, as the implication that they were more concerned with self-promotion than *your* promotion. Interestingly, I once heard the head of the local one here tell a group of small businesses that it’s often better not to pursue the grant, given its conditions, but rather to just take the advice and get trading. But I know you’re good with legal issues, so hopefully you’ll spot any potential nasties.

    Like

    • It’s the government’s new New Enterprise Allowance scheme. They pay this instead of paying Job Seeker’s or Income Support and then deducting the equivalent of what you earned that week from your giro. If it needs regular auditing or anything like that, I shan’t apply for it. But may as well explore all the options. I’m not sure how or if it impacts on working tax credits, but will see which way, if at all, I’ll be better off. I may not be entitled to it yet, and if I am, I may not then qualify with my business plan.

      Like

  2. Ah, well that might work better than the schemes the assorted development agencies came up with. They offered a one-off lump sum for start-ups (£500! – nice but hardly millions), for which you offered your soul 😉

    Take the advice, at any rate. And dump it if it’s rubbish 🙂

    Like

    • They too offer a “lump sum” but then pay it at £65 per week for first … 6 months I think, then it goes down to £33 per week for 6 months. It’s basically the same as JSA but you don’t get it docked when you’re earning … I don’t think. You can also apply for an additional £1,000 loan, but you have to pay that back, obviously. The other is based on contrubtions, I think, and you have to be registered with the job centre for 26 weeks to qualify. All advice is useful, though, ta, and all warnings heeded. 🙂 Still lots to find out as well.

      Like

Comments are closed.