I need a writer’s retreat …


… and I’d quite like it to be in a nice, summery room like this one, full of energy and cheer, blatantly nicked from my mate Jo who runs the Yellow Room magazine and website.

I have been soooooo busy recently, and I’m absolutely NOT complaining, but I’ve not had chance to even look at Catch the Rainbow for ages. This novel needs to be in circulation by mid-year, and in production by year-end if a regular publisher is going to use it.

So I’m going to give myself a whole weekend off and use it as a writing-retreat-at-home. I’m going to stock up with supplies, pull up the drawbridge, batten down the hatches and – possibly – switch the phones off. And then I’m going to have 2 whole days devoted to just the novel.

Cost stops me taking a writing retreat away at the moment, and I like to be here for the pets. I’ve done this before though, and very successfully too. I just need to decide when to do it again.

My eye test the other day was good. My eyes have hardly changed at all. So we’re just going with reading glasses this time as I really can’t work out the vari-focal things, although for distance they’re great. They said they’d take 7 – 10 days to come in.

It was a glorious day yesterday and I had 2 walks. One was around town to collect 2 parcels; the other was our regular daily dog walk.

I also cleaned out a giant Versailles-style planter my dad gave me for the yard, broke some polystyrene (Styrofoam) into chunks and put those in the bottom (for lightweight drainage and for its thermal properties), and filled it half with compost to stop it blowing over. I checked that there were drainage holes in the bottom and I placed the pot on 3 feet Dad also gave me.

Next time I go shopping I’m going via the garden centre to get a grape vine. This will go in the new giant pot and I should be able to get one for less than £15 (apx $24). When I get the vine, I can top the planter up with compost and give it a good water.

I think one of my minarette apples has died, which is sad, but the other is still okay. When I scrape the bark with a thumbnail, the good one is green underneath, but the other is brown. That’s a shame. I might try further down and then prune back – or I may just need a new apple tree.

I have a huge selection of free seeds to choose from off the front of some gardening magazines. I have one pot already that I tried carrots in last year but the dog destroyed it, so I’ll probably try carrots again. I also have a couple of growing sacks that have handles on so they can be dragged around to suit. There are 2 offers currently in magazines where I can get more of these sacks, with seeds thrown in, for just the postage. But as I’ve not used the ones I have yet, that may be false economy.

This nice weather is making me want to be outside more.

It’s the last weekend of the month, so that means a trip down to my parents’ on Sunday. I have some other stuff to drop off so I might see if they want to go for a run out in the car with me while we’re there – save me adding it on to the start of my journey home.

Have a great weekend.

8 thoughts on “I need a writer’s retreat …

    1. Thank you. It can’t be this weekend, or the next 2 by the looks of things. So it might be the one after that. Plenty of time to get all the planning done I need to at this stage.

      Like

  1. I know — I’m grateful for the feast, but I really want a break!

    I love doing home-based writing retreats. They are such fun. Enjoy your time with your parents, and enjoy planning your upcoming retreat.

    Like

    1. It’s hard to remember the abundance when there isn’t any, but when it comes it’s more than worth it. 🙂

      I think it may be the 4th weekend in March. I have one gig in for a week on Sunday already, then the weekend after is the birthday weekend so that will be full, and the weekend after that is Mother’s Day in the UK … Blimey, at this rate it’ll be Easter!

      Like

  2. Dray

    I dream of a place like that. A long as it’s surrounded by rocky peaks, blizzards and an old, old forest. Hey, I can dream 🙂

    I don’t trust this weather – so I’m putting off my veg bed until early March. ‘Course, I won’t do any digging, My Bear will. I’ll do what this man does best. Supervise 🙂

    Like

    1. If it was surrounded by rocky peaks and forests, you’d never get out. 🙂 Maybe that’s the plan.

      Yes, I’m keeping half an eye on the long term forecast too. The pots get colder than beds do. And they dry out quicker.

      Like

Comments are closed.