Flurry

Well now, that was a bit of a flurry, wasn’t it? I thought I’d leave Friday night’s post at the top for those that were more likely to see it on a week day. It was great to see so much support and a few of us have made some new friends. Onwards and upwards.

I’m moving my errand day to a Wednesday. I’ve been interrupting my work schedule to drop work off or go to the bank or collect something or see someone, and I’ve ended up going out almost every day of the week. This isn’t good for productivity, fuel economy or the budget in general as I’ve been paying parking on each of those days too.

Friday is currently my admin/errand day but if I’ve nipped out on a Friday, I’ve ended up going on a mass shopping expedition too, or thought, ooh I’ll just go and do that, and so not ended up back at the desk in good time to do any more work. I may move the admin to Wednesday too, but I’ll see how it goes with it just as the errand day.

I need to kick myself up the backside generally and limit myself to things like the Internet to before or after work, or first or last thing. Yesterday it took me over an hour to catch up just with FB, but then we did have quite a lot of activity over the weekend in general this time.

But then it took me another hour to respond to emails and things, and by the time I’d caught up and responded on both, there was other stuff coming in, which I then thought I may as well act on. So I didn’t start “work” yesterday until after lunch in the end, and ended up working till 9pm, which meant I couldn’t go to my area Rambers’ meeting. I cancelled a walk with Ramblers the other weekend because I was working too. This is so not good enough.

It’s time to start blocking “my” time out and refusing to work during that time. If I was on holiday abroad, they’d not be able to get hold of me, would they? And all my work is usually finished on time, so no-one would be chasing me for anything. This is new work that everyone wants doing NOW. I’ll help anyone in a genuine emergency, but they can’t all be emergencies, can they? I’m not a life-saving doctor.

This means fave-activity time coming up – once I’ve cleared the current decks. I have a book to deliver (tomorrow – new errand day), another to finish, another 2 to start, plus a short story and an article to write this week. And I need the next lot of work to come in. But I can feel a mass-diary sesh coming on.

Luvverly jubberly.

6 thoughts on “Flurry

  1. Carol

    Can’t wait.
    You have been given a whole extra day this year to use for anything you want.
    Looking forward to March’s list.

    Like

  2. I have exactly the same problem Diane 😦

    I was up at 6 and didn’t start writing till gone 9 as I was FaceBooking, sorting my Blog and clearing my email inbox *deep sigh*

    I really dont know what the answer is…..more hours in the day? Lol 😉

    xx

    Like

    1. I think it’s more discipline with the likes of FB. Honestly, I thought blogging was time-consuming, and avoid Tweeting too often. But FB really does gobble up that time. 🙂 xx

      Like

Comments are closed.