The bubble bursts

I had a brilliant weekend, I was spoiled rotten, taken for two delicious meals and topped off with a great gig. To start this week off, the remittance advice came in from the publisher and it’s an upfront payment.

I should be the size of a house, but instead I clocked in on the scales with a 7lb weight loss – that’s half a stone … although it could have managed an extra quarter pound to let me drop down into the next digit, but half a stone is half a stone and my first main target reached.

The lovely Vikki gave me a Versatile Blogger award, which I’ll act on just as soon as I can give it justice. Thanks, mate. 🙂

Yesterday I had a meeting with a new enterprise allowance consultant and I’m “in the programme”.

So now my bubble has burst and it’s back to real life. I have to start *doing* this work I’ve worked so hard to bag now, and I have a business plan and a cash-flow forecast to prepare for the NEA people. I didn’t realise exactly how much work I *did* already have in, although I knew it was at least a year’s worth, but when NEA Man wrote it all down it put it into perspective.

Main plan of attack starts, as usual, with the diary. But if I can do all of the commissioned paid work in the first 2 weeks of the month and get my invoices in, that’s my next month’s wages and I can spend the next 2 weeks doing the leg work for the books. A 5-week month is a bonus, as is everything over my minimum monthly wage target. I’ll also keep just one small job back for each week, so I can say I’ve earned *something*, but hopefully I’ll also be getting the allowance every week for the first 6 months.

Life is good. Still looking for that cherry on top, but I suppose we mustn’t be greedy.

6 thoughts on “The bubble bursts

    • Thank you. I worked really hard over Christmas to get this work in, and now it’s come to fruition. But I have even more work ahead. Just need to apply that bum-glue now. 🙂

      Like

Comments are closed.