Resuscitating the social life

Now that the work diary is pretty much sorted (for the rest of the year!), I can start to think about resuscitating the old social life. Not that I’ve not been going out – I *have* been going to gigs. But being treated for my birthday gave me the taste (literally) for doing something a bit different again.

This Friday, then, I’m off out of my comfort zone and heading to a pub in a different city with a mate I’ve not seen for ages. It’s still a gig, but the band won’t be expecting me and it will be fresh territory.

On Easter Monday I’m off out for a Chinese meal with the Ramblers. The Ramblers have quite a good social diary but I’ve never been able to make anything before. They always go for a meal and I can’t always afford it. But when I found out they were going to the Chinese restaurant where my friends took me for my birthday, I decided I’d quite like to go too. So I am.

It’s a start, it’s to different places and with different people. I feel as though I’m getting a life back again and it won’t just be work, work, work all the while. And as I’ll be earning properly again, I won’t feel so bad spending some of it. I think I also fancy the pictures now, and maybe the theatre too.

Today a neighbour friend and her 3 dogs joined Rufus and me on our walk. It was nice to have someone to natter to, and walking with 3 other dogs did Rufus the world of good. He even went for a paddle with 2 of them along a ditch – lovely … This friend is on the parish council and I may go along to one of the meetings as an observer.

This week’s work, then, is 2 books to proof-read, both fairly big ones, and more work on the business plan and cashflow forecast. On Wednesday evening I also have a Ramblers’ meeting.

I feel as though things are finally settling again. Well, it’s about bloomin’ time. 🙂

4 thoughts on “Resuscitating the social life

  1. Carol

    It is blooming time! The daffs, crocus and primulas are lovely now. Sunny but cool days, it’s all looking good.
    I went to see ‘The Best Exotic Marigold Hotel.’ particularly as I love all the cast. I really loved it, the film is aimed at a definite generation, (I’m not quite there!) but younger friends enjoyed it very much also.

    Like

Comments are closed.