Glorious day

British Summer Time (BST) has begun and the British summer arrived with some glorious weather. We had fog yesterday morning, and for much of the weekend, but the sun managed to break through and today it’s been gorgeous from the start.

I don’t do BST, though. I’m not a morning person at the best of times, so when they take an hour off me it takes a while getting used to. I was supposed to go walking with Ramblers yesterday and I woke at 9am for a 10am walk … but I hadn’t put the clock forward so was already late. I took Rufus for a longish walk around the village fields instead.

It was a grand weekend, though. On Friday I headed off to Leeds to meet one mate and surprise another on her debut gig with her new band. It was great catching up with the mate I’ve not seen for 3 years, and the bass-bird was “made up” to see me – apparently so were the rest of the band as it was my first time to see them and the first time of meeting the rest of them (I’ve known them a long while on Facebook and via the gig list).

On Saturday we went to 2 gigs, but we left the first one early as the sound was quite shocking – don’t think it’s the band’s fault, more the venue, but we weren’t enjoying it. So off we headed for gig no 2, earlier than planned, and we had a brilliant time, so much so we wish we’d just gone there first. We had a great laugh and it was fun to catch up with another band we haven’t seen in a while.

We have daylight and sunlight at the back of our houses now, and didn’t we have fun and games with that. My nuisance neighbour called the police when he noticed that “someone” had cut down *his* trees.

  1. They’re not his trees …
  2. The “someone” in question had written to the owner of the trees and got his permission …

What a palaver. Apparently Nuisance Neighbour had gone banging on everyone’s doors and windows before calling the police – though not mine – but we think they police may have calmed him down because the following morning he was apologetic and said it wouldn’t happen again. Too right it won’t. Bang on my doors and windows and I’m dialling 9-9-9.

Well, because it was so much brighter with this one clump of trees shortened, neighbour’s bloke on other side went to see the owner of the trees to see if he could lower all of them … and bona-fide tree owner said please do.

So now we have daylight and sunlight again in our back yards and today I can work out there in the privacy of my own garden. This is why I sacrificed a huge chunk of my redundancy settlement to pay for it.

Last week I submitted my business plan and cashflow forecast to the Chamber of Commerce to see if I qualify for the government’s New Enterprise Allowance (NEA) scheme for the self-employed. My advisor was very impressed with my writing skills (useful, I find …) and we got on great – he’s ex-RAF and a BIG customer of Pen & Sword books so we were able to have a very long conversation. I have to tweak my plan a little, to make sure it isn’t thrown back with queries, but hopefully we’ll be signing it off on Thursday this week.

I may be on the bus … I think the wheel-bearings have gone on my car and I’m all out of savings. So I need to get working furiously, get invoices out, get signed on to the NEA, and get some money coming in. But the bus is okay, I have a bus pass and the exercise and activity will do me good.

This week, then, is diary work today then a new book to start proofing. Then I have the first of the historical novels to edit. I have that business plan to tweak, with 2 meetings in town. I need to start making appointments to interview people for the first of the non-fiction books, and I want to crack on with Catch the Rainbow.

I’ll try and pop back sooner this week, but it really has been head-down, full-throttle-forward – and now I have to get used to the lost hour too.

4 thoughts on “Glorious day

Comments are closed.