A quiet evening in Baggins Bottom

Dropping the car off at the garage yesterday was the first job. I took Rufus with me thinking that he already has an hour allocated for his walk, and we walked back from the garage. It took exactly an hour so was perfect, and it knocked the dog out so I could work for much of the rest of the day.

I had a good, steady rest of day and I had hoped to work for a few hours in the evening …

However, at about 7pm my next door neighbour came home and realised that my car wasn’t there. He proceeded to creep around my property with an unidentified plastic bottle, spraying something at my fence, on my fence, over my fence and under my gate – into my garden. He peered through knotholes and stood on tip toe to try and see over the 6′ fence. Then he’d go into his own garden, padlock the gate, go indoors, come out and do it all over again.

And again …

And again.

This guy’s behaviour is starting to really freak me out now, and I know it all sounds very petty but he was creeping around my car 2 weeks ago, he invents complaints and then reports me to the various authorities (me and everyone else), he’s thrown a powder substance over the fence before that might have been pepper (an irritant to cats), he’s emptied the dregs of beer cans over before putting them into his recycle bin, he’s poured other liquids over that could be water, disinfectant, bleach, acid, anything, and now he was spraying … something …

I’ve seen him put neat bleach on his own dog’s urine and then spray it with whatever’s in this bottle – not that *his* dog ever urinates or fouls, of course. But this creeping behaviour is totally and utterly … well, creepy.

So I called the police. I didn’t know what he’d sprayed on my property and I was shaking at the furtive manner in which he was prowling. The police have tried to talk to him on several occasions but he’s always been out. The fact that he was now in prompted me to ask for someone to come out straight away. And bless them, they sent someone out straight away.

This was a new police officer from a different district, we had a chat and then he went to have a chat next door. Then he came back to say what the man’s response was … which was: “I’ve not been anywhere near her property, I’ve not sprayed anything on her property.” (He’s such a liar, he crosses my property every day, twice a day.) Several times the officer said the lady had seen him until he said: “Well, I may have been spraying my own property …” Through: “Okay, well yes, I did spray her fence too, but it’s nothing …” To: “It’s a cat and dog repellent.”

A cat and dog repellent. On MY fence. I have 2 cats and 1 dog. This a fence that divides MY land, it has MY land on both sides of it, over which he just has access. Maintenance access if we’re going to be picky.

When asked why he was spraying cat and dog repellent on MY fence he said it was to keep MY cats off it – that’s their fence technically – so that HIS dog doesn’t attack them. HIS dog is a Rottweiler.

The police officer advised him that spraying or pouring anything on, at, over or under my fence constitutes, at the very least, trespass. He assured the officer that it wouldn’t happen again … We shall see.

I was shaking so much that after the police officer left, my other neighbour and her bloke insisted on keeping me company for an hour or so. Lady neighbour’s bloke is going to get me some silicone to fill the knotholes up.

But apart from that … there was a quiet evening to be had in Baggins Bottom …

Today I’m editing a novel, and only editing a novel. A friend is dropping by later with a small DVD CCTV camera.

8 thoughts on “A quiet evening in Baggins Bottom

  1. vasilikiscurfield

    Very creepy and threatening behaviour.. What a loser. He obviously doesn’t have enough to fill his life. Good idea to record evidence. At least your other neighbours sound nice.

    Like

    1. Hey, long time no see. 🙂

      Yes, the other neighbours have been really supportive, reporting things to me he’s done when I’ve been out, which is why we were watching particularly when the car wasn’t there. As soon as they said they’d seen him doing something it felt as though I wasn’t imagining it any more.

      Like

  2. Carol

    The cctv is a good idea. I was going to suggest have a camera at the ready.
    Have to go, can’t stop coughing.

    Like

Comments are closed.