The stuff of nightmares, part 2

Rufus had a nightmare last night. Not a dream, where he flinched and jumped and yelped and quietly wuffed a bit, but a proper, full-blown nightmare that he woke out of barking his head off – and he has a BIG bark – and frightening me half to death.

He was reluctant to settle again, so I had to take him downstairs (he’s still afraid of heights and won’t tackle the stairs down by himself) and let him sniff around the garden, checking the perimeter out, and make sure he didn’t start barking again.

Once we’d done that, he went out like a light leaving me wondering what had spooked him in the first place.

I’ve had a long few days with everybody seeming to want a piece of me – everybody. So I’d dragged myself to bed at 11pm last night determined to have a good night … and the dog woke me up at 1am. (Sigh.) I did get a good night in the end, though, and woke “up and at ’em” this morning.

Because I’ve been distracted, I still have a lot of work to get through, plus a load of legal stuff. I also have to go and collect my car at some point today. They were going to put it though its MOT too, so I’m dreading the results of that. Errand day tomorrow is very full, so that leaves me with today.

I’d best get on.

2 thoughts on “The stuff of nightmares, part 2

  1. Dray x

    We have a two year old woofler, and he still does that occasionally. Sleeps behind my legs on the quilt. Cute.

    There’s your clue. You are busy, distracted and everyone wants a piece of you, including him 🙂 He’s being a good ‘un. When you can’t be ‘mum’, he’s free, independent, and does what he knows best. He’s protecting his patch, even in his dreams.

    His patch is a massive world of sights and sounds and smells hundreds of times stronger than ours. It’d be overpowering to us. You have a good lad there.

    Like

    1. Yes, he’s turning into a proppa little guard dog. 🙂 When I had a nightmare the other night he wouldn’t settle then either, perhaps I should have let him check the manor then too.

      Like

Comments are closed.