Tax return – check

“Boating Lake”, Cleethorpes May 2012, black swan and greylag goose

I got all the washing done yesterday, walked the dog to the chemist to collect a prescription, tried to post a letter but forgot to put a stamp on it – and didn’t have any cash with me so had to take it home again – got back and started on the expenses for 2011/2012 …

… five hours later they were done.

That took me such a long time I’m determined to do it on a monthly basis this year. I decided I may as well go the whole hog and get the tax return done too – I reckon I’m in for a mini bonus – and did a major de-clutter of the office while I was at it. I emptied the recycle bin twice and emptied all of the household bins (and the dog poo bin) into the main wheelie bin.

The in-tray is still heaving a bit under the weight of the work I have in (2 scripts to write, 1 book to edit, 1 book to proof-read, plus jellies for income/invoices, expenses, urgent things to do, the National Service book – must open a proper file for that – 2 potential disputes, and fave magazine’s current fiction requirements), and there are still 2 trays bursting with filing, but at least the desk is a lot clearer.

The post-in tray, for example, is totally empty. That was full of mail I hadn’t bothered opening the last time (mostly junk), plus mail accumulated since the last time. The post-out tray has 3 letters in, including the tax return and the one I tried to post yesterday. That’s normally a bit of a dumping ground …

I also did some shredding, I changed the toner cartridges in the colour printer (also a bit of a dumping ground, due to its nice, flat top), ran off some letterheads and invoices, and I printed some fresh self-addressed labels on the laser printer. A good, tidy-up day.

This morning, then, while it’s still cool, I’ll walk the dog again via the post box. Then I MUST edit that novel, and maybe write 2 first drafts (an article and a filler, both fairly short). Oh, and I MUSTN’T FORGET THIS WEEK’S WALKS REPORT. (Remind me, someone. Ta.)

I forgot to mention yesterday that I had a great time at the school reunion on Friday. They had a fair turnout, but it would have been nice to see a few more. I got back in touch with a few old friends who I’ve not seen since I was 11, and it was nice to go for a wander down memory lane.

6 thoughts on “Tax return – check

    1. I didn’t really do a full one last time, just a partial. Now the bulk of it’s gone it’s loads better.

      Ha ha, walk report written and printed, ta (thank for your reminders). Gonna proof it over lunch then get it sent. 🙂

      Like

  1. Carol

    Just looked and you are slightly closer to Wentworth than me, I think. It takes me about half an hourish. Now, that’s interesting and a lovely place for a meeting/

    Like

    1. I think it might be a different Wentworth, we have one on the border with Rotherham. But yes, we have to sort that meeting. 🙂

      Like

    1. No, that’s somewhere different again. Wentworth is on the edge of Barnsley near Elsecar and Jump. It’s a pretty village with a garden centre and some nice walks.

      Like

Comments are closed.