Still warm

“Boating Lake”, Cleethorpes May 2012, barnacle goose

The temperature dropped yesterday and it clouded over, but that made for a slightly nicer walk for the dog. I posted the letters on the way around, came home and got back to work.

On top of the scheduled stuff, I also drafted 3 article ideas and pitched them to a favourite market. I remembered the walks report too, and got a reply from a 2nd newspaper telling me I’d just missed their deadline by about 90 minutes. This is good, it means they’ve noticed the reports coming in every week and I now know when my deadline is.

When I used to submit sports reports to the same paper, my deadline was Wednesday lunchtime. It must be Tuesday lunchtime for other things. And, of course, it means she’ll be expecting it next week and more likely to use it. It sounds daft, I know, but now I know 2 of the 4 newspapers will definitely use it. (It’s the way local newspapers work.) Of course, the other 2 could also be using the reports, but as I don’t get them I don’t see if they have or not.

I also uploaded pet pictures and de-cluttered office pictures to FB.

They’ve forecast rain today and onwards, and cooler temperatures. This means I’m less likely to subject the local community to my bare legs (in shorts). The footpaths are well-used but still overgrown on either side, and stingers are a problem. I won’t be wading through the field of rape either in shorts, as it’s over head high and will rip my legs to pieces.

I still have a book to edit, a script to write and a book to proof-read, but I’ll have to defer the 1st and 2nd drafts to next week, or the weekend. I’m still getting quite a lot done this week, though, so I won’t beat myself up.

2 thoughts on “Still warm

  1. Carol

    All sounds good. We are talking about the same Wentworth, lovely village with yellow stone and green paintwork; a huge stately pile with an eccentric living it; excellent garden centre, with sunken gardens and a maze; Paradise Square and Holy Trinity church, yes? Its not a bad distance between us and a great place to browse and relax.

    Like

Comments are closed.