Congratulations Ma’am

© The Official Website of the Queen’s Diamond Jubilee

For anyone living in a cave, or even a different universe, this weekend we have been celebrating 60 years of Queen Elizabeth II. I took 2 days off to help celebrate with Her Majesty and thoroughly enjoyed the Thames pageant on Sunday, where a flotilla of 1,000 craft sailed, motored, steamed or rowed up our River Thames. I missed yesterday’s concert, as I was working again by then. But whatever people’s personal opinions, I think the whole event has gone very smoothly.

Congratulations to Her Majesty, congratulations to everyone involved with the organising of this long weekend, and a very speedy recovery to HRH The Duke of Edinburgh.

As I say, I took a very rare 2 days off. I was only taking one day off but I was so tired I decided to take the full weekend. Had I not been so busy recently, I would have taken the full 4 days, as I really resent not having a bank holiday with everyone else. But, such is the life of the recently newly re-self employed trying to build up regular business.

I was going to do some baking, I fancied baking bread, rolls and pizzas. But I’d bought some party food from the supermarket on Friday and didn’t want anything to go to waste. And so I did nothing. Other than read. And walk the dog. And watch television. I think they call it a “holiday”. And on Saturday evening I took a friend out for his birthday.

On Sunday I watched the whole of the pageant, and did nothing – other than read, and walk the dog.

On Monday I started work again. I wrote an article from scratch and got it delivered, I did the daily competitions (I’ve entered 13 competitions to win a car now …), I did the diary for this week and most of next week, I posted some correspondence, I walked the dog, I did some washing, I answered an SOS from a friend who’d gone to see one gig but arrived too late and wondered if there were any others anywhere (I found them one and think they had a great time there instead), I proof-read the bulk of a book, and I sat down at 9pm to watch telly for 2 hours.

Today, then, while the rest of the UK continues to enjoy the long Jubilee weekend, I have the rest of that book to proof-read and the next one to start. I’ll sit right away from the laptop so that I’m not disturbed by any distractions, and I’ll walk the dog.

Here’s this week’s list:

  • diary work 
  • weekly walks report 
  • week-daily blog 
  • daily comps √ 
  • proof-read historical book #1 
  • week-daily short dog walk √ 
  • household chores
  • edit historical novel #1
  • skive for half a day
  • weekly gig list update
  • proof-read historical book #2
  • drop work off/pick work up
  • weekly shopping
  • weekly invoices
  • 2¼-mile dog walk #1
  • 2¼-mile dog walk #2
2 thoughts on “Congratulations Ma’am

Comments are closed.