Lovely day off

Holmfirth – one I made earlier

I had a lovely day out yesterday to one of my favourite places in Yorkshire – Holmfirth, or Last of the Summer Wine Country. I didn’t take this picture yesterday, but it’s one from one of my many other previous trips there.

For the first time, after about 7 years, I met a blog-buddy who has gone on to become a Facebook friend, fellow Seriously Serious Scribe, and good friend in general. We had a lovely long chat, and we’ve decided that we’ll go to the Harrogate crime writing festival on the Saturday.

We were lucky with the weather. It stayed sunny while we were walking outside, but poured down once we were safely inside. Then, several hours after I got home, the sky literally fell down in one great sheet. The cats were curled up in their baskets on the windowsill, the hail was banging against the windows, and Rufus looked at me as if I was barmy when I opened the back door to see if he wanted out.

It was a nice day, a day off that I needed. Everybody else had their bank holiday on Monday and/or Tuesday. I had mine yesterday. 🙂

And this means work must re-start with a vengeance. I have to get another book proof-read and one edited this week. I also want to start arranging those interviews for the National Service book so I can get that first chapter written and the contract and advance in the bag.

I suspect that Do Not Disturb sign will be going up again shortly.

6 thoughts on “Lovely day off

  1. Kate

    Hi Diane 🙂

    Ahh, I love Holmfirth! I was there on holiday September last year. I will show your photo to my partner tonight as he fell in love with the place. We met the artist Ashley Jackson and he invited us up into his private office to see his work being packed up to go to the ‘Where Counties Meet’ exhibition. We hope to go back again sometime 🙂

    All the best with the interviews and first chapter 😀

    Take care,

    Kate 🙂

    Like

Comments are closed.