Have I gone stark staring mad?

Holly, looking quite tiny.

It’s been a while since we had any pictures of the cats, so here’s Holly looking absolutely tiny.

Now then, I know I said I’d never teach again, because I thought it drained my creativity, but I *am* thinking about it again.

One of the things I miss is being part of an interactive pro-active social writing group. The Seriously Serious Scribes on Facebook are great and we’re talking about arranging a retreat or five. But when I was back at Solihull Writers’ Workshop, it was brilliant to feel part of that buzz again.

I’ve hunted around for a writers’ group here, and there’s one that meets on a Thursday morning in town, and another that meets one afternoon in a library. Daytime groups are no good for me because that’s when I work, regardless of whether I’m working for myself or not, it’s my work time.

So then I thought about starting an evening group myself, but the only people interested were more interested in learning to write and maybe then progressing on to a writers’ group.

Rufus

Yesterday I sent out feelers for venues and bums on seats, and had a fair response considering it was within an existing group of friends and acquaintances.

So I’m thinking of starting a class, and I’m thinking of making it a regular weekly evening class, starting in September.

What do you think? Have I totally lost the plot? Do I want to be tied to one evening a week every week? Will I have the time? Would you do it? Or have I gone stark staring mad? Answers on the usual postcard.

We’ve pretty much decided to go to Harrogate for the Crime Writing festival, but only on the Saturday afternoon. We have to buy tickets for a Val McDermid event and a Laura Lippman event (Ian Rankin isn’t there on the Saturday), and we’re hoping to find some time to see Ann Cleeves too.

Last year I went to the Edinburgh Book Festival, the year before I went to the writing weekend at Fishguard, this year it’s Harrogate. Next year … may be a SSS writers’ retreat, but we haven’t decided where yet.

Today I’m editing the historical novel and then testing the technology with the first chapter. If there’s still a problem with it, we can discuss it when I pop in at the end of the day to deliver some proof-reading work. On the way back I’ll do the shopping.

I was going to be walking this weekend, but with the weather forecast as it is, I may stay close to home and work. If I end up working, I’m taking tomorrow night off and going to a gig. If I end up walking, I’ll be too shattered to go to a gig.

Have a good weekend – and can you see Domino?

spot the cat
8 thoughts on “Have I gone stark staring mad?

  1. The answer is probably. As devil’s advocate, you are not only giving up a free evening you have all the preparation and admin etc as well, which will take up time. Classes sound great but it could be combined with a writing group also, so that everyone gets something out of it. There’s always something new to learn or experiment with and having people around with expertise and knowledge each group would complement the other. Anyway, think long and hard, I’m sure you will.
    Have a great, thoughtful weekend. πŸ™‚ x

    Like

  2. I’ve always understood creativity is closely allied to innovation? If so, when teaching, invent for the moment πŸ™‚ The rest is all yours. You have a writing style all your own in an established genre. To be published, that’s the way the system works.The way I see it is to teach genre specific rather than you specific, with a dash of your personality, and a good gubbins of interaction.

    I wouldn’t worry about the vampires who are looking to pinch (ahum, emulate) like wot you got. Fine with school kids, that’s why their there. Adult classes always have one. But they aren’t you, so they can’t take anything away from you more than you’re willing to give.

    I’ve been known to ghost write by the way, and that’s my experience πŸ™‚

    Dray xx

    Like

  3. There’s nothing wrong in giving it a go, make everyone aware you are just doing it for say 6 weeks, and that way if you decide, actually, you wish you hadn’t, you can pull out πŸ™‚

    Good luck honey….I’d come if you were nearer πŸ˜‰

    Xx

    Like

Comments are closed.