List mania (erm … list alert …)

I’m really enjoying this book, HOW TO DO EVERYTHING AND BE HAPPY by Peter Jones. I suppose it helps to find a fellow list-maniac, even if it is a surprise when even he suggests cutting down on the list thing.

I had a chore-filled weekend rather than a work-filled one – or that was the plan. I was going to do a load of washing, until the washing machine needed attendance. I had to clean out the filter, but by the time I got it out and back in again, half of Saturday had already gone. And the filter wasn’t blocked anyway. The machine isn’t drying properly – it isn’t spin-drying very well and instead of tumble-drying it’s tumble-moisting.

During the dog walk I wandered up to see our resident washing-machine-repairman, but his shop was all closed up so he must have been out on a job. I’ll try him again today.

On Saturday night I finally made it to my first gig in about 5 – 6 weeks, which was nice.

On Sunday aside from chores I did more reading. I didn’t take the dog on his slightly longer walks as I can’t really justify the petrol money at the moment. And, of course, the weather forecast was atrocious and we’re better off staying close to home, if we can.

I almost forgot about my Sunday radio silence and caught myself checking Facebook on the mobile phone far too early. I’d already “liked” a couple of things, commented to a couple of people, and was halfway through writing a status update of my own when I remembered. So I switched it off again. I’d like to say I didn’t check it throughout the day, but at least I wasn’t obsessive about it.

Sunday teatime my (nice) next-door neighbour’s bloke brought me a mini-greenhouse a friend of his was giving away. He even assembled it for me, and today he’s fetching the shelves over. He also came bearing 2 small trays of sweet peas for me to pot up.

And I have lists. OH do I have lists.

I have a bucket list, which is really a travel list as it happens, and it includes the following:

  • the Galapagos
  • Easter Island
  • Australia
  • orang-utansΒ in Borneo
  • lemurs in Madagascar
  • safari in Kenya
  • the pyramids
  • a canal holiday in Bruges
  • the war graves

What places would be on your bucket list? Do you see a theme in mine?

After the bucket list I did an “I want” list, and off that list I had to pick just 3, then I listed just 3 things each that would help me *start* to achieve those. Apparently, as we cross one of the 3 sub-items off the list we add another at the bottom. Here are mine:

  1. write another book
    1. read through all of what I already have
    2. collate everything together and write a new outline
    3. complete current chapter
  2. get fit
    1. start with 10mins of yoga each day
    2. walk dog every day
    3. finish eating at 8pm
  3. plant up the garden
    1. punch holes in galvanised containers
    2. get bean poles/canes
    3. fix trellis x 2 to fence

What would yours be?

Honestly, I cannot recommend this book highly enough. It really is a must-read because I can’t (and shouldn’t – else you might not get the book yourself …) do it enough justice here.

I was up at 7:30am this morning, so we’re getting there with me starting the day earlier. I had a glass of juice in front of the news while I waited for my pain-killers to kick in (the back is in bits at the moment, which I think is a combination of sitting slumped over my desk for much of the time and standing for several hours Saturday night). I did my 10 minutes of yoga, having already pre-programmed the Wii with a very short routine that I can build on and that cuts out all of that unnecessary time-wasting in between activites. And then I had breakfast downstairs instead of at my desk.

Breakfast should not be eaten at the desk. It means dirty crocks start to stack up in a place other than next to the kitchen sink. It means I segue straight into work and forget to get dressed. It means I end up spending even longer at the computer when I should be doing other kinds of work right away from the distraction of the internet.

So, I’m up, fed and dressed and ready to go nearly 2 hours earlier than I usually am. I hope I can sustain that during this week. I may pop to B&Q in my lunch break to cost up bean poles (canes) and trellis, and during our dog walk I’ll try washing-machine-repairman again. This evening I have an area meeting in Sheffield with the Ramblers. The rest of the time I work.

Here’s this week’s to-do list:

  • update blog week-daily
  • daily comps (excluding Sunday)
  • walk report
  • edit historical novel #1 (needs to be completed this week)
  • proof-read non-fiction #1
  • daily dog walk
  • SYNED (area Ramblers meeting)
  • household chores
  • update gig list
  • proof-read non-fiction #2
  • haul out CATCH THE RAINBOW and do the above
  • weekly invoices
  • drop off/pick up work
  • hair appointment
  • shopping
  • transcribe national service book tape #1
  • visit Dad (and Mom) for Father’s Day.

(Gulp …)

10 thoughts on “List mania (erm … list alert …)

  1. Great lists, I haven’t reached that part of the book yet. I can’t work unless I’m dressed and ready to go. I have to ‘dress’ for work both physically and mentally. I always did it going out to the office obviously and I still have to make that separation at home…but then I’m weird.
    Top of my places to visit – Pembrokeshire, Cornwall and the Scottish islands.

    Like

    • I like to be “dressed proppa” before making an important business call, like a pitch, but I do forget to get dressed if I’m just sat in the corner of the bedroom. I think it’s the bedroom part.

      Like

  2. I really enjoyed Australia when my show was at the Adelaide Fringe. And New Zealand.

    My travel list includes Ireland, Brussels, Venice, Easter Island, and an extended tour of Asia.

    Like

  3. I have lists everywhere so I think I need to get that book! Can’t work out what went wrong this morning, but I didn’t get up until 9.55am I’m ashamed to say 😦 (I shall be setting my mobile phone alarm tomorrow!) I then went and ate breakfast at my desk! That’s the last time though, I’ll sit up properly as of tomorrow. Travel-wise, I cannot think of anything else than moving back to the Lake District – it’s where my heart is πŸ™‚

    Like

Comments are closed.