Not bendy enough

In between editing yesterday, I managed to spend more time in the garden. I had to pot the sweet peas up really as they were starting to wilt. So I had an hour out there. I’d bought 3 new pots on Monday (3 for the price of 2), but I already had compost and a free quarter bag came with the sweet peas too. I thought I had polystyrene for drainage, but must have used it all up in the grape vine pot.

I had to break up 3 old mugs instead, but they were either cracked or never used. The pots planted up quite easily, and I inserted 5 or 6 canes into each pot and tied them into a wigwam so the peas can climb up those. Within an hour of me placing the pots and giving them a good water, the peas’ tendrils had woken up and were attaching themselves to the canes. I love it when that happens, it’s like watching it on fast-forward.

This having breakfast downstairs lark is really working. I’m getting up at a half-decent time and sitting in front of the news while I eat. Then, when I come upstairs and switch the computer on, I’m getting dressed, etc, while it boots up. Much, much better than going from the bed to the desk … and then staying there ALL day – or until someone calls.

I’m not managing the yoga first thing, though. I know it’s supposed to loosen you up, but I’m just not bendy enough too early in the morning, even after painkillers. I *am* doing it right before I take the dog for a walk, or some other activity, though. I know if I can touch my toes. First thing in the morning I can’t touch my toes without bending my knees; by the time I take the dog, I can touch my toes no problem.

After spending time in the garden, working and taking the day to loosen up, I walked the dog to the post office, posted a short story submission and an invoice, paid in a cheque, and popped in to see washing-machine-repairman. He’s coming at 1pm today.

When I got back I played some more on the Wii – Wii Fit and a game – and settled down for the evening in front of the telly.

Rufus has been sick 3 times this morning. I caught him chewing on one of the cat’s dishes yesterday and he seems to have eaten 2 of the rubber feet … Sigh, you’d think he’d learn. Hopefully it’s all out now.

I have more editing to do today, and I have washing to hang out – if it ever brightens. They’ve lifted the hosepipe ban in 3 regions today (we didn’t have one) and it’s been raining here. They’ve forecast sunshine (looks out of window) but it hasn’t got here yet.

4 thoughts on “Not bendy enough

  1. Jackie Sayle (Brown)

    I’m not bendy enough these days, either. I do half an hour, my back gives out and I need an hour’s rest. When I think of how much I used to be able to do in the garden and house in my 20s and 30s…. 😦

    Like

Comments are closed.